Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Greg's pseudo-HT room
Who's Online
2 registered (alan, Socketman), 43 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13355 Members
11 Forums
23042 Topics
407455 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17828
pmbuko 16307
SirQuack 13353
CV 11365
MarkSJohnson 11032
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this review by Brad C! "Very impressed with my purchase: 2 High Powered M6...

(y) Great review from Tom H of his new surround speakers! "I love the surroun...

22 year-old Axiom System, still in showroom condition! Welcome home, old friends!

The end of a truly unique voice. RIP Joe Cocker - you were part of the soundtr...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#392553 - 05/01/13 09:03 PM QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD Offline
newbie

Registered: 07/16/04
Posts: 4
It seems you would get a better connection not using the power bracket for the speaker wire but as a mount only. Anyone use them with the speaker wire clamped in and left them that way?

Top
#392560 - 05/01/13 11:14 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16307
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
Are your QS8s not getting a good signal?
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#392561 - 05/01/13 11:21 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11365
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
I've been using the power brackets on my two rear QS8s, and they've worked just fine.

Top
#392565 - 05/01/13 11:58 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1238
Loc: Canada
Its safe to assume they no longer have 5 way binding posts?
_________________________
No news is good news...especially when you can't afford it.

Top
#392571 - 05/02/13 12:49 AM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
nickbuol Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 4660
Loc: Marion, IA
The photos on the product page show the following:



I also confirmed this with my V3 QS8s.

So you have the bracket with the built in audio connections (which I am using with my two V3 QS8s) but you can also use the binding posts just like before (which I do for my two V2 QS8s).

Despite the difference connections, I have no issues with one over the other. The bracket is snug enough that it makes a solid connection.
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, VP150, 4-QS8s, 4-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45

Top
#392578 - 05/02/13 10:28 AM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5965
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I have 3 QS8's mounted with the speaker wire connected to the mounting bracket. It takes a bit of work and patience to get a good connection where all of the speaker wire is inside the clamp. That's one design I'd like to see improved somehow. With a single strand wire, it wouldn't be an issue. But, with the 12 gauge multi stand wire, it can be a bit of a challenge.

Slightly longer screws might help, because now when you unscrew them to make the gap to put the wire in, sometimes the screws come all the way out, then you have to take the time to re-insert the screw. (This can cause some expletives to escape your upper orifice, if your're not careful.)

Top
#392729 - 05/04/13 11:08 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: CatBrat]
Stilljoe Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 04/05/12
Posts: 27
Loc: Greater Toronto Area
I talked to Ian about the power brackets when I visited last year. I have QS4s and on-wall M3s, not sure if QS8s are different. I found that i was trying to tighten the clamp on a very short (1/4 inch or less) section of multistrand wire (14 gauge, I think) and the wire slipped out as I tightened - several times and yes, expletives followed. I ended up drilling a deeper recess in the bracket to allow a good 1/2 inch of stripped wire under the clamp. Much easier!
I have no concerns about the quality of the connection.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.