You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » QS 8 Power bracket

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#392553 - 05/01/13 09:03 PM QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD Offline
newbie

Registered: 07/16/04
Posts: 4
It seems you would get a better connection not using the power bracket for the speaker wire but as a mount only. Anyone use them with the speaker wire clamped in and left them that way?

Top
#392560 - 05/01/13 11:14 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
Are your QS8s not getting a good signal?
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#392561 - 05/01/13 11:21 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
I've been using the power brackets on my two rear QS8s, and they've worked just fine.

Top
#392565 - 05/01/13 11:58 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1773
Loc: Canada
Its safe to assume they no longer have 5 way binding posts?
_________________________
Getting closer to an hour a day in my HT.
My precious...

Top
#392571 - 05/02/13 12:49 AM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
nickbuol Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5319
Loc: Marion, IA
The photos on the product page show the following:



I also confirmed this with my V3 QS8s.

So you have the bracket with the built in audio connections (which I am using with my two V3 QS8s) but you can also use the binding posts just like before (which I do for my two V2 QS8s).

Despite the difference connections, I have no issues with one over the other. The bracket is snug enough that it makes a solid connection.
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#392578 - 05/02/13 10:28 AM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: VeXeD]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I have 3 QS8's mounted with the speaker wire connected to the mounting bracket. It takes a bit of work and patience to get a good connection where all of the speaker wire is inside the clamp. That's one design I'd like to see improved somehow. With a single strand wire, it wouldn't be an issue. But, with the 12 gauge multi stand wire, it can be a bit of a challenge.

Slightly longer screws might help, because now when you unscrew them to make the gap to put the wire in, sometimes the screws come all the way out, then you have to take the time to re-insert the screw. (This can cause some expletives to escape your upper orifice, if your're not careful.)

Top
#392729 - 05/04/13 11:08 PM Re: QS 8 Power bracket [Re: CatBrat]
Stilljoe Offline
buff

Registered: 04/05/12
Posts: 41
Loc: Greater Toronto Area
I talked to Ian about the power brackets when I visited last year. I have QS4s and on-wall M3s, not sure if QS8s are different. I found that i was trying to tighten the clamp on a very short (1/4 inch or less) section of multistrand wire (14 gauge, I think) and the wire slipped out as I tightened - several times and yes, expletives followed. I ended up drilling a deeper recess in the bracket to allow a good 1/2 inch of stripped wire under the clamp. Much easier!
I have no concerns about the quality of the connection.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,991 Topics
424,046 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (nickbuol)
55 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup