You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#394170 - 06/15/13 03:23 PM what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/15/13
Posts: 1
Hello, I only recently learned about Axiom and i Heard they have really great speakers and power amplifiers, but a great set of speakers and a great power amp isn't worth a nickle without a great control amp/control center to plug your components into. I noticed Axiom doesn't sell actual control amplifiers (if they do, I must have missed where they are located). What control amplifiers do you (Axiom speaker/amplifier owners) use?

P.S. I might have put this post in the wrong secton, I probably should have put it in "Home Theater".


Edited by Aegis (06/15/13 03:37 PM)

Top
#394188 - 06/16/13 04:15 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
Many of us just use a regular AVR from Denon, Onkyo, HK, Yamaha, etc., and don't use separate preamp/amp configurations. In many situations that is all you need to play as clear and as loud as you would want.

On the flip side, some use there AVR's as the pre and a separate amp from various manufacturers in the audio industry, or actual separates with preamp/amps from one manufacturer.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#394197 - 06/16/13 08:51 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#394203 - 06/16/13 09:31 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: jakewash]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: jakewash
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..


+1 here, use the pre-amp out on my 3311 as a pre pro with good success. Though the audio guy up in my head wants a Emotiva XMC-1 if they ever get the darn thing built. Alternatively a Bryston SP3 but that 10g and i seem to be a be a bit short.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#394208 - 06/16/13 09:57 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5171
Loc: western canada
Just an Onkyo AVR here, although i have used a few other preamps in the past; a Parasound Halo unit, a vintage Phillips. a Sansui...




Edited by chesseroo (06/16/13 09:58 PM)
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#394211 - 06/16/13 10:37 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
I use a Krell processor, and Krell amps.. However, i am kind of thinking about a new processor though... Don't know what i'm going with next though....

Top
#394213 - 06/16/13 10:48 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1781
Loc: Canada
Yamaha reciever with preouts and an axiom ADA amplifier.
_________________________
Thinking about co-locating my 4 powered Paradigm subs between my LRR and my LR.
A tower of power.

Top
#394226 - 06/17/13 06:44 AM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
i use the preouts on a Marantz sr5005;

the Marantz directly drives the rear surrounds;
the 2 QSC power amps are used for the front and side surrounds.
(i don't use a front center channel).

check the links in my signature...
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#394227 - 06/17/13 10:41 AM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
I use Anthem D2v + ADA1500
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#394228 - 06/17/13 12:28 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: SirQuack]
Strider53 Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/11/12
Posts: 154
Loc: Detroit
+1
I also use Pre-outs from an AVR and a separate power amp.
/Jeff

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,017 Topics
424,290 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
41 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup