Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


Wall'O'Fame
Axiom Dolby Atmos 7.2.4 Cinema
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
0 registered (), 112 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,453 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,343 Topics
413,717 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17994
pmbuko 16400
SirQuack 13360
CV 11547
MarkSJohnson 11297
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#394170 - 06/15/13 03:23 PM what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/15/13
Posts: 1
Hello, I only recently learned about Axiom and i Heard they have really great speakers and power amplifiers, but a great set of speakers and a great power amp isn't worth a nickle without a great control amp/control center to plug your components into. I noticed Axiom doesn't sell actual control amplifiers (if they do, I must have missed where they are located). What control amplifiers do you (Axiom speaker/amplifier owners) use?

P.S. I might have put this post in the wrong secton, I probably should have put it in "Home Theater".


Edited by Aegis (06/15/13 03:37 PM)

Top
#394188 - 06/16/13 04:15 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13360
Loc: Iowa
Many of us just use a regular AVR from Denon, Onkyo, HK, Yamaha, etc., and don't use separate preamp/amp configurations. In many situations that is all you need to play as clear and as loud as you would want.

On the flip side, some use there AVR's as the pre and a separate amp from various manufacturers in the audio industry, or actual separates with preamp/amps from one manufacturer.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#394197 - 06/16/13 08:51 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10404
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#394203 - 06/16/13 09:31 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: jakewash]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1456
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By: jakewash
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..


+1 here, use the pre-amp out on my 3311 as a pre pro with good success. Though the audio guy up in my head wants a Emotiva XMC-1 if they ever get the darn thing built. Alternatively a Bryston SP3 but that 10g and i seem to be a be a bit short.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#394208 - 06/16/13 09:57 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5117
Loc: western canada
Just an Onkyo AVR here, although i have used a few other preamps in the past; a Parasound Halo unit, a vintage Phillips. a Sansui...




Edited by chesseroo (06/16/13 09:58 PM)
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#394211 - 06/16/13 10:37 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1850
I use a Krell processor, and Krell amps.. However, i am kind of thinking about a new processor though... Don't know what i'm going with next though....

Top
#394213 - 06/16/13 10:48 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1338
Loc: Canada
Yamaha reciever with preouts and an axiom ADA amplifier.
_________________________
LoL while you still can

Top
#394226 - 06/17/13 06:44 AM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
i use the preouts on a Marantz sr5005;

the Marantz directly drives the rear surrounds;
the 2 QSC power amps are used for the front and side surrounds.
(i don't use a front center channel).

check the links in my signature...
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#394227 - 06/17/13 10:41 AM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: Aegis]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3297
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
I use Anthem D2v + ADA1500
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
Audiobytes! 2M22! 2VP150!

Top
#394228 - 06/17/13 12:28 PM Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use [Re: SirQuack]
Strider53 Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/11/12
Posts: 125
Loc: Detroit
+1
I also use Pre-outs from an AVR and a separate power amp.
/Jeff

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.