You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » QS8 v1 Mounting

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#394189 - 06/16/13 05:05 PM QS8 v1 Mounting
dcrosgrey Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/16/13
Posts: 2
Hello,

I have a question I hope you can help me with. I am setting up a 7.1 surround home theatre. I just received my QS8 (v3) and I also have another set of QS8s (I believe they are v1 because I purchased them over 10 years ago. I also received my set of ceiling brackets and a set of wall brackets from Axiom as I wanted to mount all of my QS8s for my rear speakers.

I noticed that my QS8 v3 speakers have the rear bolt that the mount instructions refer to but my QS8 v1 speakers do not. Instead, the v1 speakers have the two predrilled holes for screws.

My question is, is it safe to use the screws that came with the mounting brackets to screw into the predrilled holes for mounting the bracket? The screws aren't short so I want to make sure I am not risking damage to the inside of my speakers by using the included screws. If I shouldn't use the included screws, what size screws do you recommend I use?

Thanks in advance for your help. smile

Dan.

Top
#394191 - 06/16/13 05:44 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2144
Loc: Whitehorse YT
My suggestion would be to pop out the top speaker and look inside and see if anything is mounted to the back side where the holes are drilled. It is the only way I can think you will feel assured .
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#394193 - 06/16/13 08:16 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I think Axiom can provide a diagram showing where it is safe to drill into the back of the QS8s.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#394195 - 06/16/13 08:40 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2144
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Already pre drilled holes,depth is the concern i believe.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#394196 - 06/16/13 08:47 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
How long are the provided screws? The MDF is 1" thick(or is it only 3/4 on the 8's?) so a 3/4" screw would be acceptable.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#394230 - 06/17/13 02:47 PM Re: QS8 v1 Mounting [Re: dcrosgrey]
dcrosgrey Offline
newbie

Registered: 06/16/13
Posts: 2
Hey everyone,

Just heard from the folks at Axiom and they sent me the following. Thanks to everyone for their input.

"As mentioned, you can utilize the FMB or the ceiling bracket with the older QS8. Using the current QS8 as a template for the center hole for your older QS8, place the speaker portion of the bracket to the cabinet. Pre-drill the 4 outer holes 1/2 inch into the cabinet and using a 3/4" #8 wood screw, secure the speaker portion of the bracket to the cabinet. Ensure that you hit a stud with the wall portion of the bracket. You will be good to go."

Just wanted to share in case anyone else ever runs into this situation.


Dan.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,619 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (brwsaw)
288 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup