Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
#399250 12/15/13 05:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
J
JBG Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
J
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
This is my setup...
http://i1345.photobucket.com/albums/p662/john_be_good/DSC04842_zpsc299eb4d.jpg

need to upgrade sub soon, due to space constraints do I go external amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs, I do not have any space in the back or sides only the front.

in my rack I have pvr - dvd - mrx & beside rack; an xpa-5


7.1.4 * MRX1120 * M100s * 180HP * 4x M3-on walls * 4x M3-IC * dual XV15se * Shakers
Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
JBG #399252 12/15/13 08:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
2 subs, 1 per side, at the mid point on the long walls would get my vote.




Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
brwsaw #399255 12/15/13 09:15 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
J
JBG Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
J
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
Originally Posted By: brwsaw
2 subs, 1 per side, at the mid point on the long walls would get my vote.


Not possible on the sides, there is heating on one side and a door on the other. either I remove the xpa-5 from the mix and put a second sub there at the same time would need to change the underpowered amp or just upgrade the existing sub .... a friend suggested that I put the tower speakers on top of the 2 subs but don't think that is any good


7.1.4 * MRX1120 * M100s * 180HP * 4x M3-on walls * 4x M3-IC * dual XV15se * Shakers
Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
JBG #399268 12/16/13 04:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
J
JBG Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
J
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
perhaps if I made the vp180 shelf deeper and put the xpa-5 behind the vp180, it is triggered so no need to have it in sight, then I could 2 subs and have the external amp..


7.1.4 * MRX1120 * M100s * 180HP * 4x M3-on walls * 4x M3-IC * dual XV15se * Shakers
Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
JBG #399269 12/16/13 04:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
J
JBG Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
J
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 485
Originally Posted By: JBG
perhaps if I made the vp180 shelf deeper and put the xpa-5 behind the vp180, it is triggered so no need to have it in sight, then I could 2 subs and have the external amp..


after taking a few measurements this isn't a good solution, at the end is it a bad thing to have just one sub?

Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
JBG #399277 12/16/13 10:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
I'd consider moving the towers away from the rear walls (sub behind amp?) and or a new stand for the VP180.
It looks like you've got an inch or 3 to work with (between the bottom of the screen and the 180).
My $0.00002




Re: External amp & 1 sub or integrated amp & 2 subs ?
JBG #399278 12/16/13 10:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
It's not bad at all to have one sub if it kicks butt.


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,297
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (wschwartz), 244 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4