You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » TV on VP160?

Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#400482 - 01/29/14 11:34 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
Tom:

To tell you the truth, I wondered why on the VP160 page that option was there. I took me a while too before the light came on, ha!

TAM

Top
#400484 - 01/30/14 12:03 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
local

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 236
Loc: B.C., Canada
Before my center channel arrived:





After center channel arrived and setup as described in my earlier post:



_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57

Top
#400485 - 01/30/14 02:16 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
Mad:

Nice. That beast makes your TV appear like it shrunk, ha!

My present Sony stand is a low, wide one like yours. Since I hate visible wires in my system, I use this type of 'wire loom' to clean up the appearance behind my stuff - at least where it can been seen.

I get mine at Canadian Tire but this is a good example:

http://www.cableorganizer.com/hosa/

TAM

Top
#400487 - 01/30/14 07:26 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
local

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 236
Loc: B.C., Canada
oooh, I like that idea smile Thanks.

I'm pretty ocd about normally too, but I know soon I'm going to be getting a whole new slew of equipment in that stand, so I kind of just said F it for now. I'll make it all pretty and proper at that point. And I think I'll look into your suggestion as well.

Yeah, that thing is a beast. When it arrived, I was just like, "damn! this shelving unit won't do!" and went to futureshop at 8pm and bought the new stand on a total impulse buy. lol
_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57

Top
#400498 - 01/30/14 12:50 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
It's interesting ref the wire loom. I've been using this product since I first saw it in my car's engine compartment about 25 years ago when they first started using it in that application. At that time only black was available but now it comes in several colours.

My TV has 1 visible 'fat cable' that contains the power cord, a couple of HDMI cables & a grounding wire all in 1 clean package. Judging from the many pics I see of other people's systems, not many use it...

TAM

Top
#400554 - 02/01/14 03:04 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
Mad:

FS is clearing out some nice TV stands so today I bought this one:

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-ca/product/z...449df92ede6en02

I was amazed on how much classier & nicer it looks in the store vs on their web page - even the missus was impressed. At $140 (supposedly $300 off both at FS & BB), they are giving them away.

So no shimming now but some assembly required, ha!...

TAM

Top
#400560 - 02/01/14 07:15 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Upgraditis is friggin brutal. grin Be sure to post a pic after you have it set up and no beer drinkin till after .
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#400561 - 02/01/14 08:42 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
The 'Some Assembly Required' went OK but there were a few expletives thrown about as expected. Seems like a nice & very sturdy unit. The tempered smoked black glass shelves can hold up to 65 lbs so the 160 should not be a problem for the top shelf.

My 160 doesn't arrive until Tuesday, but I won't be able to get at it until Thursday or so. I think that there will be some trial & error to get the adjustable TV Mount at the right height to clear the 160 as I want it to be as low as possible.

Anyway, I dread having to disassemble the old system & fitting it into the new stand...

TAM

Top
#400573 - 02/02/14 06:38 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
local

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 236
Loc: B.C., Canada
very nice stand! I was interested in that exact one actually, but the price was much higher when I was looking at it. That's a great deal that you picked that up for.

I like it smile
_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57

Top
#400653 - 02/04/14 03:42 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1727
According to my neighbour, my 160 arrived this morning and is safely inside. They had a package on the same UPS truck so it worked out well.

Unfortunately I'm in Victoria till tomorrow helping my daughter do some remodeling while her hubby is on his way to 'The Gulf' aboard one our warships for 8 months...

TAM

Top
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,017 Topics
424,290 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
49 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup