You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Axiom in wall wire?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#401083 - 02/15/14 05:50 PM Axiom in wall wire?
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
The in wall cable has four wires. Would you recommend using two for each speaker post or one for each post and run two speakers of the one cable? Thanks

Top
#401084 - 02/15/14 06:00 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
you can get inwall wiring with 2 wire from other sources.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#401086 - 02/15/14 06:06 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: SirQuack]
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
I already have the axiom. Will one wire per speaker post be enough? It is 14awg.


Edited by GregD (02/15/14 06:07 PM)

Top
#401094 - 02/15/14 10:46 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
brwsaw Online   happy
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1807
Loc: Canada
Generally 14 gauge would be good for most of axioms speakers except over long runs with a 4 ohm speaker.If its already there why not use it?
_________________________
"Do the best you can with what you have."

Mom

Top
#401095 - 02/15/14 10:50 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Greg, one wire per speaker terminal is fine. Be sure to match the receiver output channels to the corresponding speaker(although the different colors should make this obvious).
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401097 - 02/15/14 11:20 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
brwsaw Online   happy
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1807
Loc: Canada
If the cable run is for one speaker I would use both.
No harm, no loss, you paid for it,why not use it?
_________________________
"Do the best you can with what you have."

Mom

Top
#401098 - 02/15/14 11:31 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: brwsaw]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Although it isn't entirely clear, it wouldn't appear that Greg would be thinking of using just one cable if he already had two of them installed.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401100 - 02/16/14 12:46 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: JohnK]
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
Will run three cables with four wires, one cable each for front left and right plus centre. I will try and double up two wires for each speaker post. I will let you know how I make out.
Will also post some pictures of my homemade rack soon. It contains an emotiva XPA2 and XPA5 both gen. 2, Onkyo 818, OPPO 103D, two monster power conditioners, apple tv and logitech ultimate remote, Rogers HD box, also pull out table on blum self close sliders for laptop.
Thanks everyone


Edited by GregD (02/16/14 12:49 AM)

Top
#401101 - 02/16/14 01:04 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Yes, if you're definitely going to install one 4-conductor cable for each speaker, then there's no good reason not to use two conductors on each speaker terminal. Doubling 14ga conductors results in the resistance of an 11ga conductor. There's no need for this except in extremely long runs, but if you have it, use it.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401106 - 02/16/14 08:46 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: JohnK]
TroyD Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/17/04
Posts: 607
Loc: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, CA
well, is this so.
you would think, the voltage applied at on end sends the same current down two like wires at 14g how does this make it less resistant ?
It is the same voltage, same resistance, same amount exactly of information, just going down two 14g runs. Both leads are resisting the same.
I can see if you pealed back the sheathing and joined the two wires together you would get an equivalent of 11g though
_________________________
Anthem AVM30
Anthem MCA50
M22v4
VP160v4
EP350
EP500

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,054 Topics
424,789 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (bridgman)
181 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup