Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
0 registered (), 24 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13364 Members
11 Forums
23098 Topics
408418 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17861
pmbuko 16323
SirQuack 13356
CV 11402
MarkSJohnson 11073
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾔸 Testing various operating systems with our new High Power Computer Speakers t...

Kick it up for Tone!

For all of you music lovers and studio geeks, this is absolutely amazing! https...

Monday morning grin! (y)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#401083 - 02/15/14 05:50 PM Axiom in wall wire?
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
The in wall cable has four wires. Would you recommend using two for each speaker post or one for each post and run two speakers of the one cable? Thanks

Top
#401084 - 02/15/14 06:00 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13356
Loc: Iowa
you can get inwall wiring with 2 wire from other sources.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#401086 - 02/15/14 06:06 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: SirQuack]
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
I already have the axiom. Will one wire per speaker post be enough? It is 14awg.


Edited by GregD (02/15/14 06:07 PM)

Top
#401094 - 02/15/14 10:46 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1259
Loc: Canada
Generally 14 gauge would be good for most of axioms speakers except over long runs with a 4 ohm speaker.If its already there why not use it?
_________________________
Waiting for the sun...

Top
#401095 - 02/15/14 10:50 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
JohnK Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10454
Greg, one wire per speaker terminal is fine. Be sure to match the receiver output channels to the corresponding speaker(although the different colors should make this obvious).
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401097 - 02/15/14 11:20 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1259
Loc: Canada
If the cable run is for one speaker I would use both.
No harm, no loss, you paid for it,why not use it?
_________________________
Waiting for the sun...

Top
#401098 - 02/15/14 11:31 PM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: brwsaw]
JohnK Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10454
Although it isn't entirely clear, it wouldn't appear that Greg would be thinking of using just one cable if he already had two of them installed.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401100 - 02/16/14 12:46 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: JohnK]
GregD Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 33
Loc: ON.
Will run three cables with four wires, one cable each for front left and right plus centre. I will try and double up two wires for each speaker post. I will let you know how I make out.
Will also post some pictures of my homemade rack soon. It contains an emotiva XPA2 and XPA5 both gen. 2, Onkyo 818, OPPO 103D, two monster power conditioners, apple tv and logitech ultimate remote, Rogers HD box, also pull out table on blum self close sliders for laptop.
Thanks everyone


Edited by GregD (02/16/14 12:49 AM)

Top
#401101 - 02/16/14 01:04 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: GregD]
JohnK Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10454
Yes, if you're definitely going to install one 4-conductor cable for each speaker, then there's no good reason not to use two conductors on each speaker terminal. Doubling 14ga conductors results in the resistance of an 11ga conductor. There's no need for this except in extremely long runs, but if you have it, use it.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#401106 - 02/16/14 08:46 AM Re: Axiom in wall wire? [Re: JohnK]
TroyD Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/17/04
Posts: 320
Loc: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, CA
well, is this so.
you would think, the voltage applied at on end sends the same current down two like wires at 14g how does this make it less resistant ?
It is the same voltage, same resistance, same amount exactly of information, just going down two 14g runs. Both leads are resisting the same.
I can see if you pealed back the sheathing and joined the two wires together you would get an equivalent of 11g though
_________________________
HK 3490
Anthem MCA50
M80 HG Cherry

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.