You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#407027 - 09/05/14 12:08 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1767
Matt:

I've never been pleased with the surround mixes that are included SACDs. They are just unrealistic & gimmicky with instrument sounds coming from all corners of the room.

The best way to listen to them IMO is good old 2 CH Stereo where the soundstage is to the front where it should be...

TAM

Top
#407028 - 09/05/14 12:18 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1767
bridgman:

My Audyssey does more than just level match - it also applies some EQ to each speaker (if required) to try to flatten out the room response.

It works very well for me but not everyone likes the results...

TAM

Top
#407029 - 09/05/14 12:43 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
brwsaw is right when he says "which meets or excedds (double) the 400 w stated.

this is in order to get the maximum available dynamic range that is possible to reproduce with the equipment. Then, there is no weak link, but an optimum match.
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#407034 - 09/05/14 03:27 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
"Can we at least get pics?" he said meekly. smile

Top
#407037 - 09/05/14 04:34 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
Axiom amp?
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#407045 - 09/06/14 01:39 AM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: tomtuttle]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11753
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Originally Posted By: tomtuttle
Axiom amp?


I'm still liking mine a lot.

Top
#407054 - 09/06/14 04:20 PM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: AAAA]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1096
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
Originally Posted By: Serenity_Now
"Can we at least get pics?" he said meekly. smile



pictures of what?
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#407070 - 09/07/14 10:38 AM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
yer setup, of course. smile

Top
#407075 - 09/08/14 12:27 AM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1096
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I have been playing with an Intel Atom D2700 HTPC box and finally got it working well. Running a flavor of Ubuntu, I can get a copy of FooBar 2000 running and output though the Optical port while at the same time, have XBMC playing a video and output the sound through the HDMI.

This may sound pointless but I noticed that the better Pre-Amp solutions from Yamaha allows you to output a digital optical connection out to your Zone 2/3/4 ... a feature that I have not found in any of the receivers that for some reason only let you output an analog signal. So this would let me centralize out the audio so that you can listen to any music in any part of the house without limiting the ability to watch a movie in the media room.

The thought of getting a proper pre-amp is getting getting more thought and consideration all the time now.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#407113 - 09/10/14 12:26 AM Re: Getting a new amp solution for my LFR1100's [Re: MatManhasgone]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
That would be HUGE for me. I regularly use zone 2 and am often frustrated by the necessity of having an analog signal.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,405 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,325 Topics
430,847 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13675
CV 11753
MarkSJohnson 11445
0 registered ()
295 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup