You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#409710 - 01/22/15 10:36 AM M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options
VTerp Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/22/15
Posts: 2
Greetings and thanks for reading.

I have an out of warranty M600 that won't power on. Per Axiom technical support, I've replace each fuse to no avail. Axiom offered me a pretty good deal on a new amp but I wanted to know what my other options are. I assume the parts are worth money to the right buyer too.

Are the technical drawings available for this amp? I might be able to find someone to repair it but would probably need the drawings. Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you

Top
#409714 - 01/22/15 01:56 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1725
What about pulling out the amp & sending it to the experts - Axiom - for repair? You can reasonably expect it to be done right.

Otherwise, if you are getting a good deal on a new amp, I'd jump at it if you like your unit...

TAM

Top
#409722 - 01/22/15 07:51 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
Axiom does not have many of the older parts available anymore or the older amps. My 600v2 amp went bad about a year ago, and they worked out a good deal for me on a newer replacement amp. I sent mine in for repair and unfortunately they were unable to fix the issue as replacement parts where no longer available.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#410024 - 02/04/15 07:03 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
real80sman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1176
Loc: Ontario, Canada
The amp in my 600 went as well. After a couple of e-mails back and forth with Brent, it was confirmed that they don't have parts for the old one. I ordered the replacement just today, so I should have it in 7 to 10 days. The process was simple, and Brent was excellent to deal with.
_________________________
Shawn

Epic 80/600 + M3's + M3 Algonquins + M2 Computer + EP125
I think I'm developing an addiction.

Top
#410151 - 02/09/15 04:00 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: real80sman]
VTerp Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/22/15
Posts: 2
Thanks all for the responses. I was offered a replacement amp as well. I will probably go that route but I have some friends who repair audio items that are going to take a stab at it. Are there any resources that I can provide them that would help? Spec sheets, diagrams? I asked Brent and didn't get a response.

Top
#410153 - 02/10/15 10:35 AM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5171
Loc: western canada
Originally Posted By: VTerp
Are there any resources that I can provide them that would help? Spec sheets, diagrams? I asked Brent and didn't get a response.

Typically companies don't divulge their design specs. They are funny that way. If you have electronic repair friends that actually know what they are doing, then they should already know how to look for a problem.

Your best and easiest bet is to just call Axiom directly.
Emails are slow as is texting.
Talking in person is an amazingly fast method of communications and i think even a new concept to today's kids.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#410156 - 02/10/15 11:00 AM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Yes, but it involves talking to people, and screw that noise.

Writing lets you get what you're trying to say straight, corrected, and clear before the other person receives the information.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#410159 - 02/10/15 12:59 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6059
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Ken, you're making the same mistake I do every day. Writing carefully doesn't mean that the result will be read carefully, in fact I find quite the opposite -- a logical and orderly presentation of facts and conclusions results in total confusion, as everything blurs together in the head of the reader who would much prefer a 30 second video (as if what you said would fit in a 30 second video).

Once I break things down into small chunks and verify comprehension after each step, I might as well be talking on the...

... phone frown
_________________________
M60ti/VP180/QS8/M2ti, SVS PC-Plus 20-39, EP500
M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti
M3v4, VP100

Top
#410161 - 02/10/15 02:04 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: bridgman]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11437
Loc: Central NH
So John, what you are saying is.... and correct me if I'm wrong..... you like cherry pies more than Triumph Spitfire distribution caps?
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#410168 - 02/10/15 05:13 PM Re: M600 v2 will not power on, what are my options [Re: VTerp]
BBIBH Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/10/02
Posts: 1258
Loc: Canada
Funny Mark, because I read that his hovercraft is full of eels.....
_________________________
Regards,

Mike

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,233 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,008 Topics
424,190 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (CV)
180 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup