You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#414569 - 09/20/15 04:21 AM Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer?
Zak Offline
old hand

Registered: 01/13/08
Posts: 62
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Hello all,
I have always had my EP500 plugged directly into a regular wall outlet, and I power it on and off with the switch on back only when watching movies.

We have had a lot of power failures, lightning storms and power fluctuation (117v to 127v) in our house, and I was thinking its time to protect the sub.

I have a Furman Elite-15 PF i power conditioner that everything else is plugged into, but the subs power cord is too short to reach.

Can I run an extension cord from the Furman power conditioner to my EP500 subwoofer, or is this a no-no?

Thanks!
_________________________
Panasonic TC-P65V10 65" Plasma
Sony KDL-55XBR8 55" LED LCD
Yamaha RX-V3800
Axiom Epic 60 - 500 (7.1)

Top
#414572 - 09/20/15 04:32 PM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: Zak]
Brendan Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 11/01/10
Posts: 23
Sure, go to the hardware store and buy a 12 gauge extension cord of the required length. You can make yourself one if you wish. Buy a male and female end and some 12/3 cab tire (sjoow or soow) off the rack at the hardware store.

The voltage you measured is acceptable. The utility usually guarantees +/- 5% @ 120v.

Cheers, Brendan


Edited by Brendan (09/20/15 04:42 PM)

Top
#414634 - 09/24/15 03:34 PM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: Brendan]
Zak Offline
old hand

Registered: 01/13/08
Posts: 62
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Originally Posted By Brendan
Sure, go to the hardware store and buy a 12 gauge extension cord of the required length. You can make yourself one if you wish. Buy a male and female end and some 12/3 cab tire (sjoow or soow) off the rack at the hardware store.

The voltage you measured is acceptable. The utility usually guarantees +/- 5% @ 120v.

Cheers, Brendan


Thanks Brendan!
I ended up ordering a Startech 10 Foot 14 AWG extension cord from Amazon which arrived yesterday.
The cord is an exact match in thickness and appearance to the OEM EP500, and I can now reach the Furman unit.

For anyone else needing a cord for subwoofer I would highly recommend this one: Amazon.ca - Startech 10-Feet 14 AWG Extension Cord
_________________________
Panasonic TC-P65V10 65" Plasma
Sony KDL-55XBR8 55" LED LCD
Yamaha RX-V3800
Axiom Epic 60 - 500 (7.1)

Top
#414660 - 09/25/15 08:30 PM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: Zak]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1332
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
Gaaah !!! Wish I had seen this sooner. I found an angles C13 plug that takes the cable parallel to the sub (like THIS rather than out toward the wall.
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
#414684 - 09/27/15 12:36 AM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: a401classic]
Zak Offline
old hand

Registered: 01/13/08
Posts: 62
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Originally Posted By a401classic
Gaaah !!! Wish I had seen this sooner. I found an angles C13 plug that takes the cable parallel to the sub (like THIS rather than out toward the wall.


Doh! I didn't even consider this as an option, as I thought the EP500 cord was permanently attached to sub. I checked the new extension cord I received but it won't fit in the EP500 slot.
_________________________
Panasonic TC-P65V10 65" Plasma
Sony KDL-55XBR8 55" LED LCD
Yamaha RX-V3800
Axiom Epic 60 - 500 (7.1)

Top
#414685 - 09/27/15 05:32 AM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: Zak]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1332
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
Yeah, that one is a standard extension cord - at lease here in the States. You need a computer power cord - C13
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
#414702 - 09/28/15 02:45 AM Re: Extension cord for Axiom EP500 subwoofer? [Re: Zak]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
For the $15 extra it's going to cost you, I would just order the long computer power cord. That way there is no extra connections to fiddle with or worry about.

On a side note, Startech is actually a Canadian company. Buy three cords. Our economy needs a boost. smile
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,072 Topics
425,100 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11694
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
184 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup