You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Axiom M80's

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#416765 - 01/30/16 11:39 PM Axiom M80's
Stereoguy99 Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 139
Loc: London,Ontario
Hi: I know it's been asked before...but can't find the answer(ok too lazy to do a search laugh ..) blush can a Yamaha RX-A1000 drive the M80's to a fairly loud level without causing it problems...i.e clipping or any other things.Thanks for the help
_________________________
M80V3,VP150ti,Mission Speakers,Paradigm DSP-3100 Sub Yamaha RXA-2050

Top
#416769 - 01/31/16 01:33 AM Re: Axiom M80's [Re: Stereoguy99]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5173
Loc: western canada
From the user manual:
http://download.yamaha.com/api/asset/file/?language=en&site=ca.yamaha.com&asset_id=45558
Yamaha RX-A1000
When this unit is configured for 6 ohm speakers, 4 ohm speakers can also be used as the front speakers.

I suggest trying the unit with the ohm setting at 8 and only if it shuts down then consider setting it to 6.
If you want it louder than what it can do prior to shutdown, i suggest getting a separate amp.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#416791 - 01/31/16 11:10 PM Re: Axiom M80's [Re: Stereoguy99]
Stereoguy99 Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 139
Loc: London,Ontario
Thanks Chesseroo: Will confirm with Axiom Monday morning when ordering!!!
_________________________
M80V3,VP150ti,Mission Speakers,Paradigm DSP-3100 Sub Yamaha RXA-2050

Top
#416800 - 02/01/16 11:03 AM Re: Axiom M80's [Re: Stereoguy99]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 852
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By Stereoguy99
Thanks Chesseroo: Will confirm with Axiom Monday morning when ordering!!!


I have Yamaha stuff. I don't know why they ever inserted that 6/8ohm switch since they eliminated it anyway after that particular model year. Just leave it at the usual 8ohm setting and everything will be fine. That model year I owned an RX-A2000 and tried that switch and it really made no difference.

Top
#416802 - 02/01/16 11:27 AM Re: Axiom M80's [Re: casey01]
Stereoguy99 Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 139
Loc: London,Ontario
Thanks Casey!!! Just ordered them spoke to Debbie I know they'll be fine I wanted the 2000 just that little thing called $$$$$ got in the bleeping way!!! LOL
_________________________
M80V3,VP150ti,Mission Speakers,Paradigm DSP-3100 Sub Yamaha RXA-2050

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,244 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,029 Topics
424,381 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
209 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup