You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Trigger doesn't work

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#419694 - 07/04/16 02:17 PM Trigger doesn't work
Rock Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/22/15
Posts: 71
Good afternoon,

My amp can only drive 150 MW subwoofer. Is it too small to power EP500 which requires 500MW from the specifications?

I connected the subwoofer with a 3.5mm audio cable but it don's work.

Thanks

Top
#419698 - 07/04/16 09:06 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6067
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
When you say "can only drive 150 MW" are you talking about audio power output of the amplifier (probably 150W) or the power output of the 12v trigger output on the amp ?

Normally a 12v trigger output can drive 80-100 mA (about a watt) but that is completely unrelated to the output power of the amplifier itself.

Just checking, is the other end of the 3.5mm audio cable connected to a 3.5mm 12V trigger output from the amp ? I'm asking because I read through the EP500 user guide and specs but didn't find any mention of a 500 mW requirement on the trigger.
_________________________
M60ti/VP180/QS8/M2ti, SVS PC-Plus 20-39, EP500
M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti
M3v4, VP100

Top
#419705 - 07/05/16 09:01 AM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1781
Loc: Canada
The EP500 has a built in amp....
_________________________
Thinking about co-locating my 4 powered Paradigm subs between my LRR and my LR.
A tower of power.

Top
#419707 - 07/05/16 10:34 AM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Andrew Offline
Axiom Engineer
local

Registered: 12/18/01
Posts: 275
Hi Rock,

What receiver/processor are you using to trigger your subwoofer on and off? Our subwoofer trigger inputs require 30mA at 9-12Vdc and the majority of trigger outputs on the market are able to source 80-100mA.

Thanks,

Andrew

Top
#419708 - 07/05/16 10:55 AM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Rock Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/22/15
Posts: 71
Thanks for the responses.

Here is the specification of the amp:

12V TRIGGER OUT: The +12V TRIGGER OUT is used for controlling external equipment that is equipped with a +12V trigger input. This output will be 12V when the C 356BEE is ON and 0V when the unit is either OFF or in standby. This output can drive a load up to 50mA at 12V.
TRIGGER OUT
Output resistance 75 ohms
Output current 150 mA
Output voltage +12 V ± 10 %

Top
#419712 - 07/05/16 02:41 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Andrew Offline
Axiom Engineer
local

Registered: 12/18/01
Posts: 275
Originally Posted By Rock
Thanks for the responses.

Here is the specification of the amp:

12V TRIGGER OUT: The +12V TRIGGER OUT is used for controlling external equipment that is equipped with a +12V trigger input. This output will be 12V when the C 356BEE is ON and 0V when the unit is either OFF or in standby. This output can drive a load up to 50mA at 12V.
TRIGGER OUT
Output resistance 75 ohms
Output current 150 mA
Output voltage +12 V ± 10 %


Everything in the specifications looks fine. Could you try another cable? Have you used this trigger output to control any other devices? Please also double check that you have plugged your trigger cable into the trigger in jack and not the trigger out jack on the subwoofer.

Thanks,

Andrew

Top
#419713 - 07/05/16 03:28 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Rock says he is using an audio cable which implies stereo. Now I don't know if a stereo cable will work since I have always used a mono cable. Andrew?
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#419714 - 07/05/16 06:07 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Stereo don't work in this case. I've had that problem several time in the past.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#419715 - 07/05/16 06:24 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Rock Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/22/15
Posts: 71
I used a stereo cable as I called Axiom hotline and that I was advised that any cable should work.

So I would try to get a mono cable for another try.

Thanks.

Top
#419716 - 07/05/16 06:57 PM Re: Trigger doesn't work [Re: Rock]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
i would get a mono for sure. the ground may lie where the insulator is.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,015 Topics
424,277 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
188 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup