Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Trigger doesn't work
#419694 07/04/16 06:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
R
Rock Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
R
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
Good afternoon,

My amp can only drive 150 MW subwoofer. Is it too small to power EP500 which requires 500MW from the specifications?

I connected the subwoofer with a 3.5mm audio cable but it don's work.

Thanks

Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419698 07/05/16 01:06 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,332
Likes: 2
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,332
Likes: 2
When you say "can only drive 150 MW" are you talking about audio power output of the amplifier (probably 150W) or the power output of the 12v trigger output on the amp ?

Normally a 12v trigger output can drive 80-100 mA (about a watt) but that is completely unrelated to the output power of the amplifier itself.

Just checking, is the other end of the 3.5mm audio cable connected to a 3.5mm 12V trigger output from the amp ? I'm asking because I read through the EP500 user guide and specs but didn't find any mention of a 500 mW requirement on the trigger.


M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC-Plus 20-39
M5HP, M40ti, Sierra-1
LFR1100 active, ADA1500-4 and -8
Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419705 07/05/16 01:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
The EP500 has a built in amp....




Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419707 07/05/16 02:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 325
Likes: 2
Axiom Engineer
devotee
Offline
Axiom Engineer
devotee
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 325
Likes: 2
Hi Rock,

What receiver/processor are you using to trigger your subwoofer on and off? Our subwoofer trigger inputs require 30mA at 9-12Vdc and the majority of trigger outputs on the market are able to source 80-100mA.

Thanks,

Andrew

Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419708 07/05/16 02:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
R
Rock Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
R
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
Thanks for the responses.

Here is the specification of the amp:

12V TRIGGER OUT: The +12V TRIGGER OUT is used for controlling external equipment that is equipped with a +12V trigger input. This output will be 12V when the C 356BEE is ON and 0V when the unit is either OFF or in standby. This output can drive a load up to 50mA at 12V.
TRIGGER OUT
Output resistance 75 ohms
Output current 150 mA
Output voltage +12 V ± 10 %

Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419712 07/05/16 06:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 325
Likes: 2
Axiom Engineer
devotee
Offline
Axiom Engineer
devotee
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 325
Likes: 2
Originally Posted By Rock
Thanks for the responses.

Here is the specification of the amp:

12V TRIGGER OUT: The +12V TRIGGER OUT is used for controlling external equipment that is equipped with a +12V trigger input. This output will be 12V when the C 356BEE is ON and 0V when the unit is either OFF or in standby. This output can drive a load up to 50mA at 12V.
TRIGGER OUT
Output resistance 75 ohms
Output current 150 mA
Output voltage +12 V ± 10 %


Everything in the specifications looks fine. Could you try another cable? Have you used this trigger output to control any other devices? Please also double check that you have plugged your trigger cable into the trigger in jack and not the trigger out jack on the subwoofer.

Thanks,

Andrew

Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419713 07/05/16 07:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Rock says he is using an audio cable which implies stereo. Now I don't know if a stereo cable will work since I have always used a mono cable. Andrew?


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419714 07/05/16 10:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,405
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,405
Stereo don't work in this case. I've had that problem several time in the past.


E = ((2M100 + VP180 + 4QS10)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
N3/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/4xM3/2xM80/4xQS8
Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419715 07/05/16 10:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
R
Rock Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
R
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 72
I used a stereo cable as I called Axiom hotline and that I was advised that any cable should work.

So I would try to get a mono cable for another try.

Thanks.

Re: Trigger doesn't work
Rock #419716 07/05/16 10:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
i would get a mono for sure. the ground may lie where the insulator is.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,401
Posts432,378
Members15,421
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,816
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 275 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4