You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Mounting QS8s....need help!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#419811 - 07/20/16 09:18 PM Mounting QS8s....need help!
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Hello, just bought refurbished QS8s version 2 on the site for good price. I remembered it used to have T brackets for wall mounting but I received 2 small brackets. Looks like T bracket but 2 end pieces and not one full piece. WTF?! Now this makes installation much harder since I have to measure it to make sure its perfect instead of one piece like T bracket. Any pointers or how to do 2 little brackets mounting on wall as far as easy template? Why did they do this and not do T bracket? Backward design in my opinion. I was hoping to mount it and place the speaker and be done quickly but now its a pain in the butt and taking forever! Can anyone confirm what brackets you guys got for the V2s or even the new V4 series? Any easy tips before I mount hoes would be nice! Another thing with T brackets you find one stud and mount it....but with wide of the dual brackets you can't get 2 studs in. What were they thinking!
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419812 - 07/20/16 10:00 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Hi, can you post some pics. I have the V4's and they have the speaker connections built into the mount. I just figured out where I wanted them made a few measurements and used a lever ,inserted a couple of drywall anchors and bob's your uncle. Took like 15 mins all told. I have mounted these speakers and a number of different heights on the wall and my favorite is just forward of my seating position and about 6" from the ceiling. Definitely do some testing before you settle on a spot. I have V2 QS4s with the T bracket so I don't know what mounts you are referring to.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#419815 - 07/21/16 10:45 AM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Since V2 are no longer made they no longer make the T brackets I'm told. The alternative is 2 metal pieces, just like the 2 metal pieces on back of V2 QS8. Problem is you can't mount 2 pieces on studs, but with T bracket you can. Not sure why they would no longer make it or keep it in stock. Oh well, I will figure it out and take some pics later.
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419816 - 07/21/16 11:55 AM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
Stereoguy99 Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 139
Loc: London,Ontario
Hi Ereed: I've recently bought QS8's Ver 2 also simply bought the "full Metal Brackets from Axiom to mount the speakers on my walls...hope this helps out!!!
_________________________
M80V3,VP150ti,Mission Speakers,Paradigm DSP-3100 Sub Yamaha RXA-2050

Top
#419820 - 07/21/16 02:56 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
So I'm assuming your V2 was refurbished and did not come with T brackets also and it was just pieces same as brackets of rear of speaker? I didn't want to purchase $90 for pair of full metal brackets when it was unnecessary the first place since I wanted it flushed mounted in living room.
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419821 - 07/21/16 03:25 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: Gr8_White_North]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Not sure how to post a pic on here. You know on your QS8s the metal brackets thats attached to speaker. Well imagine another set of the same metal brackets. Just like T bracket without the middle center piece. Debbie said they no longer stock T brackets since V4 uses different ones so the ones they gave me was an alternative. I tried posting a pic but its asking for website. Can you just copy a pic and post it on here from your PC or phone?
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419823 - 07/21/16 04:41 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
[img]http://www.avsforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=1558225&d=1469133236[/img]

There is the brackets on the left of speaker the supplied me. Just like T bracket without middle piece.
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419824 - 07/21/16 05:33 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
I finally decided to order the full metal bracket so I can just mount it once on the studs. I guess I can live with it sticking out few inches from wall and spend little money and rather be safe and make install easier. I do realized these tilt and swivel but they also can be straight as well? Seems every picture I've seen they are tilted down?
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419825 - 07/21/16 05:39 PM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
Stereoguy99 Offline
veteran

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 139
Loc: London,Ontario
Hi: That is why I bought the metal brackets....use .75 screws with the "Full Bracket" any longer I believe will damage the speaker also at 1st you'll have to give it a real hard twist to dissemble the bracket to do the mounting properly(at least mine needed a twist)

that is what my QS8's look like too!


Edited by Stereoguy99 (07/21/16 05:40 PM)
_________________________
M80V3,VP150ti,Mission Speakers,Paradigm DSP-3100 Sub Yamaha RXA-2050

Top
#419830 - 07/22/16 05:49 AM Re: Mounting QS8s....need help! [Re: ereed]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1030
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
and that is why you can buy these



you dont need to screw into a stud. The weight of the speakers are not that much. I used these with my QS8 as the perfect placement was not next to a stud
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,282 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,089 Topics
425,421 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11709
MarkSJohnson 11444
4 registered (Kevin1, Timmeh, LaRazaUnida, Dragbug)
198 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup