You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Powered Monitors?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#420000 - 08/08/16 11:23 AM Powered Monitors?
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6887
Loc: It's all about the location.
Anyone try using powered monitors in their HT?

I have a Denon AVR where I can add Height speakers but require external amplification to do so which led me to wondering if anyone has tried using monitors as surrounds. I realize HT is not the same environment as a recording studio where monitors are used in a near-field application, but the fact that decent monitors are accurate and are usually powered made me wonder if they could be an alternative to traditional bookshelf speakers in surround duty. Anyone tried this?
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#420144 - 08/22/16 06:41 PM Re: Powered Monitors? [Re: Adrian]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6096
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
That's interesting... you could use a big-ass few-channel amp for mains + center, then self-power the rest. Only reason I can think of for that not being more popular is that people generally buy an AV receiver first so they already have lots of low-power amplification channels available.

In terms of downsides, not sure whether long line-level cable runs out to the surround positions would be a source of noise/interference. Should be OK as long as you use decent coax I guess ?


Edited by bridgman (08/22/16 06:43 PM)
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, PC-Plus 20-39, EP500v3
2 pr M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti, M3v4, VP100
UDP-203 smile

Top
#420146 - 08/22/16 09:28 PM Re: Powered Monitors? [Re: Adrian]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6887
Loc: It's all about the location.
The Denon I have, has height capability but requires separate amplification so it could be an alternative. Also, if you wanted to, you could run your fronts and centre off the AVR but use powered surrounds thereby freeing your AVR to give you some extra headroom.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#420147 - 08/22/16 10:54 PM Re: Powered Monitors? [Re: Adrian]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6096
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By Adrian
... thereby freeing your AVR to give you some extra headroom.

Good point, forgot about that.


Edited by bridgman (08/22/16 10:54 PM)
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, PC-Plus 20-39, EP500v3
2 pr M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti, M3v4, VP100
UDP-203 smile

Top
#420153 - 08/23/16 01:56 AM Re: Powered Monitors? [Re: Adrian]
2x6spds Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 3127
Loc: CA, USA
I have a 7.2 system driven by a 5 channel Anthem PVA5 amplifier. I use a Partsexpress.com sourced 2 channel 60wpc channel for the back surrounds. You have to set the volume separately from the processor, but it works great.

Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Mini Amplifier 60 WPC



Probably cheaper than an amplified monitor.

I use one of these in my 2.1 channel garage system. 2 Merak (Axiom made) center channel speakers upgraded with twin Axiom 6.5" aluminum drivers, one with a horn tweeter, the other with a tweeter from a Reference 3a mm de capo I picked up from ebay with its cap and resistor. I use a cheap CD player and a Sony XDR F1 HD am/fm tuner which is silly good.



Super sound quality.


Edited by 2x6spds (08/23/16 02:08 AM)
_________________________
Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,252 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,037 Topics
424,532 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11443
0 registered ()
179 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup