You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#421805 - 12/30/16 12:49 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6207
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
My first thought would be to put M22's where you have QS's now and put the QS's face up on your mains and rears (tweeters pointing front & back) so they can bounce off the ceiling smile
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti
M5HP, M40
LFR1100, soon to be active
EP500, PC+ 20-39

Top
#421869 - 01/01/17 10:49 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1053
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I got the AV60 and cannot express how much it improved my sound doing nothing more than plugging it in.

I had tried the Marantz AV7005 and found it didn't sound right to me even with the Audyssey, i could not get it right.

I had some amps, but ended up buying newer Axiom ADA1000. Now I am in bliss
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#421873 - 01/01/17 12:37 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13608
Loc: Iowa
The 60 is definitely on the top of my list, just need to figure out how to fund one. smile Then I need to figure out where to purchase one, they really don't have many options other than high end audio stores/installers around Iowa that are going to charge MSRP. Online as well, Crutchfield and that is about it. I know they make a good product but the 60 with no on board amps seems a little steep.

I have a 7 channel Outlaw amp, so would have to pick up a few 2 channel amps from someone, or maybe Outlaw's new 5 channel amp. As far as the speakers that is another question. Nice at one point it was Dolby that recommended Bi/di pole speakers for surrounds. I still may see if I can just lower my Qs8's to around ear level. i have 9ft ceilings so placement on my atmos speakers should still allow enough seperation for a great experience. I have a pair of onwall 22's, I wonder if that would work. I could always pick up another pair, or trade for some 3's.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#421884 - 01/01/17 02:48 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Check out Gibby's should be able to do well with the dollar difference.

Also if they don't ship across the border I could relay the package for you. Serenity will vouch for my character


Edited by Socketman (01/01/17 02:58 PM)
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#421890 - 01/01/17 03:12 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
A-1 pm me if needed

Top
#421895 - 01/01/17 04:32 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13608
Loc: Iowa
If I did my math right would be about 2232 American $ not bad compared to Crutchfields MSRP 2999 price. May have to look into that when I get a little closer..Thanks for the input.

I have a few things I am working on selling smile A nice telescope and some older audio equipment. smile
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#421903 - 01/01/17 07:11 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
I hear ya, we don't all have Nicks money smile
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#421909 - 01/01/17 11:02 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: Gr8_White_North]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5359
Loc: Marion, IA
Originally Posted By Socketman
I hear ya, we don't all have Nicks money smile


Ha. If only. smile

If you could get a top tier receiver with full 7.2.4 capabilities fully amplified within the receiver box, with real wattage ratings that aren't inflated, ARC (Anthem Room Correction), toroidal power supply, with ALL current connection/playback technologies that will be used within the foreseeable future, all for less than $2200 shipped to your door, it would be something that you would consider if you were looking at jumping to the "next level" type of sound.

I didn't have the funds for it. I had about $1400 that I had been saving up for (from a couple of years of doing side work for people at AVS and elsewhere doing graphic image editing). I had to sell off some of my "old toys" to fund the rest. Ha.

Unfortunately, I have a feeling that I will have to do the same thing again in a couple of years when I want to get a 4K projector. smile

Of course, I still had to get all of this "pre-approved" from my financial officer (my wife) that I could use the money I made in my spare time for a receiver both before and after I made it. It was easy getting approval before hand, but getting her to "let" me spend that much money took a lot of convincing.

Anyway, enough of this really long response about Socketman's statement. LOL.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#421928 - 01/02/17 01:04 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Just teasing ya bro. Most people have the same money issue's around these parts. Champagne ideas and a beer budget. The Needs keep taking all the money for my Wants.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#421936 - 01/02/17 05:59 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5359
Loc: Marion, IA
Yup. I didn't take it any other way. smile
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,332 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,182 Topics
427,506 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13608
CV 11734
MarkSJohnson 11445
1 registered (Gary Vose Sr)
251 Guests and
1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup