Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Dolby Atmos track crackling
#425711 06/01/17 11:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
A
AAAA Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
A
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
Last weekend we picked up a few new releases. "The great wall" and "deep water horizon" on bluray exhibit a crackling noise in the dolby atmos soundtrack. I tested the other non atmos audio tracks on the disc and no crackle.....

My other atmos discs, like John Wick, Game of thrones etc. No issues....

My playback is not on an atmos AVR so it must be the foldback to legacy true HD or goofing up reading flags on the metadata? Anyone else notice this? Maybe oppo needs a firware release. The disc "the great wall" does not offer a non atmos soundtrack choice... bummer. Its unwatchable with the crackle.

Player :Oppo 103
AVR :Arcam AVR 360 with outboard amps.

Re: Dolby Atmos track crackling
AAAA #425712 06/01/17 11:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
A
AAAA Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
A
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
Apparently it may be the copy protection authoured into the disc/codec. Lame if this is so.

Seamless branching.... Can anyone confirm or test this out if the have either of these discs with a 103 player.

Re: Dolby Atmos track crackling
AAAA #425713 06/02/17 02:00 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
My BDP 93 would drop audio due to lack of processing power for the conversion from some true hd tracks. I played the great wall with my BDP 203 and i dont have atmos capability and i did not experience any audio problems. Maybe time for an upgrade.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Dolby Atmos track crackling
AAAA #425717 06/02/17 01:59 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
M
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
When I tried to play some of the ripped atmos off the internet on my non atmos tv/receiver it gave the sounds you were getting. if i take it downstairs to the atmos AVR60 it works perfectly fine.

Sounds like it's upgrade time


Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A
Re: Dolby Atmos track crackling
AAAA #425718 06/02/17 03:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
A
AAAA Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
A
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
I think it's the AVR. If I can send LPCM to it from the oppo and eliminate the issue it might be a sign the arcam is a classic...

I mentioned selling the arcam and my old LCRs to my wife to buy a new AVR. Her look was terrifying. Lol.


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,357
Posts431,542
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,680
CV 11,791
MarkSJohnson 11,445
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 247 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4