You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » EP175 Stopped Working

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#426459 - 08/23/17 11:13 AM EP175 Stopped Working
TDIPablo Offline
old hand

Registered: 04/04/17
Posts: 95
Loc: Ottawa, Ontario
I've submitted a ticket with Axiom (not sure how long it takes them to action) but was wondering what user experience has been with support.

Last night, I noticed my EP175 didn't appear to be outputting any sound. The green led on the back panel is on, the volume knob is set at 6, not output. I turned it on and off hoping a reset might do the trick, no go.

Next I tested to see if my AVR or cables were bad. I substituted another sub I have lying around and it worked fine (i.e. not an AVR or cable issue).

Any other thoughts? The sub is only 4 months old (though it was a refurb from the Axiom store).

Top
#426460 - 08/23/17 05:42 PM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
cb919 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/17/09
Posts: 1166
Loc: Ottawa, Canada
Hi TDI. I've not had to use their service in a long time now, however when I did Axiom was very prompt and helpful with resolutions. They have an excellent reputation for service and support. Hope you're back to rockin some bass soon.

Cheers,
_________________________
Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1

Top
#426461 - 08/23/17 08:26 PM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6112
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
One pattern I have seen is that response time tends to be slower in August when a lot of folks are on vacation.
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, PC-Plus 20-39, EP500v3
2 pr M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti, M3v4, VP100
UDP-203 smile

Top
#426463 - 08/24/17 08:05 AM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
TDIPablo Offline
old hand

Registered: 04/04/17
Posts: 95
Loc: Ottawa, Ontario
Well I am absolutely floored! Ian contacted me within 6 hours and asked for pictures of the back so that they can send me the correct replacement amp! Not sure exactly what that means but I'm guessing they figure that replacing the amp is easy enough for a DIY. As long as no soldering is involved, I should be able to manage.

Fingers crossed so far but if this customer service experience pans out, huge kudos to Axiom!

Top
#426464 - 08/24/17 11:43 AM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
That's one of the great thing with Axiom's engineering. They design their products to be easily serviceable by their customers (saves a lot of time).
I just had to replaced the PI board on my AA and it was a piece of cake. The boards even have large sections that can be used to hold it without risking to spark the board with ESD.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#426585 - 09/15/17 01:07 PM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
TDIPablo Offline
old hand

Registered: 04/04/17
Posts: 95
Loc: Ottawa, Ontario
Ok, finally received the replacement amplifier on Wednesday (2 weeks turn around is bloody amazing IMHO). I opened the box and to my horror, no instructions! Fearing the worse, I gathered all my tools including my soldering iron ready to tackle what this was of course going to be a major replacement project!

Turns out, all I needed was a simple Allen key. Maybe Axiom can sell their speakers at Ikea! :-)

All kidding aside, with the right bit at the end of my drill, I had the back off in no time. What would have been nice to know is that the only two wires I had to "unbind" were actually on clips and didn't need to be unscrewed. I didn't know they were slider clips so I unscrewed the bolt and can you guess what happened? Yep, one of the binding post fell into the sealed box! Panic set it, how do I get access to that binding post? Crap, I'll need to cut a hole! Yikes!

Sanity returned when I noticed I could simply unscrew the front woofer with the same allen key bit. Voila! There was the binding post hanging from it's wire ready to be fed back into the back hole. Crisis averted.

With the binding post securely back in it's place, I proceeded to install the new amp... Wait a minute, the blue and white wires on the new unit don't have the end pieces to fit on the binding posts! Panic again!

That's when I realized the blue and white wires were terminated with crimp wire disconnects that slide onto ring terminals... DOH! This is where a simple 3"x3" installation picture would have saved me 15 minutes :-)

Long story short, I have my bass back and dozens of movies to catch-up on.

Excellent customer service from Axiom.


Edited by TDIPablo (09/15/17 01:08 PM)

Top
#426616 - 09/18/17 03:02 PM Re: EP175 Stopped Working [Re: TDIPablo]
2x6spds Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 3139
Loc: CA, USA
Good work. All audio tweakers know that panic feeling!
Glad everything went so smoothly.
_________________________
Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,052 Topics
424,762 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
188 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup