You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » ADA1000 & that 12v trigger

Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#426921 - 11/01/17 06:38 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
norap Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/24/17
Posts: 62
Loc: Ontario
Does the amp trigger if it is the lone item connected to your avr? In other words when it sees the full voltage it is designed to see and not whatever is produced when split between more than one piece of equipment. If so I wouldnt blame the amp but be more inclined to be unhappy with the shortcomings of the avr having only one trigger output.
_________________________
LFR 1100s QS8s QS2s ADA1500 EP350
Yam RX-A3050, Polk CSI A6, Klipsh B10B, SVSPB2000,PSW125x2




Top
#426922 - 11/01/17 06:47 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
norap Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/24/17
Posts: 62
Loc: Ontario
Do you have a mult-meter/volt meter. I might be wise to check the voltage produced at your avr and confirm with axiom what is required. Might just be a compatibility issue. I may be grasping at straws but I think it might be worth exploring
_________________________
LFR 1100s QS8s QS2s ADA1500 EP350
Yam RX-A3050, Polk CSI A6, Klipsh B10B, SVSPB2000,PSW125x2




Top
#426923 - 11/01/17 07:30 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: norap]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1047
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
Originally Posted By norap
Does the amp trigger if it is the lone item connected to your avr? In other words when it sees the full voltage it is designed to see and not whatever is produced when split between more than one piece of equipment. If so I wouldnt blame the amp but be more inclined to be unhappy with the shortcomings of the avr having only one trigger output.


If you re-read my gripe. The Anthem AVM60 only has a single 12v - 40mv trigger port. That is what it is.

The AXIOM EP500 works perfectly with this. It works perfectly if I string multiple units together. The EP500 has an amp built by Axiom. it works.

The AXIOM ADA1000 does not work perfectly with this. Note how the two devices are built by the exact same company. Both happen to have an amplifier inside of them, that were built by Axiom in Canada.

So now ask yourself. why would one of the components that was designed and built by Axiom work flawlessly and the other one not.

Think about if for a second.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#426924 - 11/01/17 08:22 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
norap Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/24/17
Posts: 62
Loc: Ontario
I was only trying to help...but nevermind.
_________________________
LFR 1100s QS8s QS2s ADA1500 EP350
Yam RX-A3050, Polk CSI A6, Klipsh B10B, SVSPB2000,PSW125x2




Top
#426925 - 11/02/17 03:45 AM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
Can you use a 12v triggered power strip? One 12v to control multiple 120v devices. They are on Amazon but might be expensive.

There are also current sensing strips that enable outlets once a trigger outlet draws. You can use powering on your AVR as the trigger.

http://www.smarthomeusa.com/smart-strip-power-strip-automatic-switching-surge-suppressor/

An ir controlled strip would be easy to integrate with a universal remote as well. Lots of solutions out there.

Top
#426926 - 11/02/17 09:18 AM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1047
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I know that Emotiva makes a 12v trigger repeater. It's $40 but as I am in Canada, the cost of shipping the unit up here adds another $40 to the cost when you pay for taxes, duty, handling costs from UPS.

I was thinking of making something better for myself. I think i'd just get that 12v 30amp relay along with a 12v dc rectifier transformer, and put them into my own box. Then run the trigger line into the box to control the relay that would turn on and off a set of 4 power outlets and run the rectifier to give me a set of multiple high current 12v trigger lines out. I am sure that I can make this for far less than the $80 that the emotiva device is and gain the 4 outlets that are trigger switched.

It is not the end of the world and there are lots of ways to bodge your way around the bad ADA design. My comment still stands that the problem should not be there in the first place to have to do this sort of thing to begin with.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#426927 - 11/02/17 09:21 AM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: norap]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1047
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
Originally Posted By norap
I was only trying to help...but nevermind.


sorry for being rather quip with you. I was in a bit of a pissy mood from a day that just didn't go anywhere near what you'd like it to.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#426928 - 11/02/17 01:54 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
Dundas Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/02/08
Posts: 83
Loc: Hamilton
My ADA1500 has worked flawlessly with the trigger outputs of a couple of different Marantz prepros. The Marantz triggers are rated at 150ma. I make my own 3.5mm mono cables so I get the exact length I need.
I have made a 4 outlet relay controlled box like you are contemplating but just used a wall wart plugged into it for the 12V.

Top
#426929 - 11/02/17 05:09 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
norap Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/24/17
Posts: 62
Loc: Ontario
Originally Posted By MatManBobbleHead
Originally Posted By norap
I was only trying to help...but nevermind.


sorry for being rather quip with you. I was in a bit of a pissy mood from a day that just didn't go anywhere near what you'd like it to.


No worries. I can understand your frustration. When something doesn't work as expected it can be a PITA. I hope you get it resolved.
_________________________
LFR 1100s QS8s QS2s ADA1500 EP350
Yam RX-A3050, Polk CSI A6, Klipsh B10B, SVSPB2000,PSW125x2




Top
#426930 - 11/02/17 11:24 PM Re: ADA1000 & that 12v trigger [Re: MatManhasgone]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1899
Loc: Canada
I might have missed something...
You're trying to split your single AVR output into 2 seperate amps right?
Why or how do the subs come into it?
In theory you can run one cable into a $3 splitter (plugged into the back of the first amp) and run a second cable to the second amp.
Did you check your AVR settings to see if ithe trigger can be turned on/off?
_________________________
One time..at band camp...

Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,316 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,147 Topics
426,571 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13581
CV 11732
MarkSJohnson 11445
1 registered (Mojo)
269 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup