You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Anthem or Marantz

Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#427254 - 12/02/17 06:13 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: Mojo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By Mojo
Dang! I think now I need an Anthem also. LOL!


Here ya go Mojoe
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427255 - 12/02/17 06:16 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 5945
Holy shight! I don't know if I should thank you or beat the crap out of you...LOL!
_________________________
M100,VP160,QS10HPx2,EP800,M5HP,M3,M50 v4
M80,VP150,QS8x4,EP600 v2
ADA-1000-2,3,1500-3
Air N2

Top
#427256 - 12/02/17 06:23 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
well,once you have it in hand you will thank me . The run of the mill recievers people buy just cant hold a candle to AVM60 or XMC-1 they are on a whole other level. I felt the same way nick and mojo did it was like a veil being lifted, life changing.DAMN this hobby LOL Ive been doin the math for ATMOS, could make a grown man sob.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427257 - 12/02/17 07:07 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 5945
What happened to the days when I could go to Krazy Kiley's in Saskatoon or Advance in Winnipeg and buy a Kenwood for $100 and be elated? Now I have $10K of gear and I'm always wondering what I'm missing.
_________________________
M100,VP160,QS10HPx2,EP800,M5HP,M3,M50 v4
M80,VP150,QS8x4,EP600 v2
ADA-1000-2,3,1500-3
Air N2

Top
#427260 - 12/02/17 07:51 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: Mojo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Originally Posted By Mojo
What happened to the days when I could go to Krazy Kiley's in Saskatoon or Advance in Winnipeg and buy a Kenwood for $100 and be elated? Now I have $10K of gear and I'm always wondering what I'm missing.



blame the internet, ignorance was bliss. i had an 8 track and 2 door speakers and 2 in the back deck, thought i had the world by the ass.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427262 - 12/02/17 08:24 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 5945
We ate from the tree of music knowledge and are now paying the price.
_________________________
M100,VP160,QS10HPx2,EP800,M5HP,M3,M50 v4
M80,VP150,QS8x4,EP600 v2
ADA-1000-2,3,1500-3
Air N2

Top
#427272 - 12/03/17 01:39 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 479
Loc: West coast Canada
Woah Gibbys is expensive if you look around could save a ton. Especially with all the sales starting A.S.A.P.
Attempted adding atmos channels via a older A\B amp. darn thing gave me feedback {won't play nice without isolators}. Though I think my ADA1250 is overkill for height, and it's 3 channel that works so well with my M80s/VP160 guess I'll have to test it out.

Top
#427273 - 12/03/17 03:29 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Honestly i wouldnt use a receiver for its amplifiers just a bunch more circuitry to mess up the sound. Why spend that kind of money on a highend component then put it through something that will ruin its design. Brendo ,what shop did you get your Anthem from.

3299. at the Sound room in BC
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427283 - 12/03/17 11:20 PM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 479
Loc: West coast Canada
I went to a place called WestCoast A.V. Gallery east of Soundroom.
Main street Chinatown neighbourhood. Almost across from the Greyhound/Train via rail stations.
Nice little place quiet more of a designer setup integration place.

I wasn't trying to add receiver it's a crest audio VS900 450x2 WPC power amp. It doesn't want to play nice much ground hiss.
My ADA plays well on its own. Have it running my main 3.
Haven't used the Crest since got my ADA.

The Anthem I have is 7.1 with 11.2 pre outs so for atmos 5.4 or 7.4 need a power amp. for heights. Now I'm content with 5.2.2.
may try again with ADA instead of just trying to add my old equipment to mix.

Top
#427285 - 12/04/17 12:44 AM Re: Anthem or Marantz [Re: brendo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2281
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Sorry, i thought someone had suggested using your previous receiver to use for power, i read too many threads. Funny the crest doesnt play nice, is it a pro amp? Are the amps in the anthem assignable I would use the crest to power some MBM's
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,334 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,193 Topics
427,739 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13611
CV 11734
MarkSJohnson 11445
0 registered ()
276 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup