Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427306 12/04/17 11:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
The crest is a pro amp. though circa1997. U.S. made tank.

Haven't found any option for assigning amps to other channels in AVR think its only add external for height front and back.

Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427320 12/05/17 02:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
I believe i read that some higher end denons allow the amps to be assigned though to what degree i have no idea. You could add a bassx amp from Emotiva since atmos doesnt require huge amounts of power.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427366 12/08/17 07:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Originally Posted By brendo
I went to a place called WestCoast A.V. Gallery east of Soundroom.
Main street Chinatown neighbourhood. Almost across from the Greyhound/Train via rail stations.
Nice little place quiet more of a designer setup integration place.

I wasn't trying to add receiver it's a crest audio VS900 450x2 WPC power amp. It doesn't want to play nice much ground hiss.
My ADA plays well on its own. Have it running my main 3.
Haven't used the Crest since got my ADA.

The Anthem I have is 7.1 with 11.2 pre outs so for atmos 5.4 or 7.4 need a power amp. for heights. Now I'm content with 5.2.2.
may try again with ADA instead of just trying to add my old equipment to mix.


I reached out to these guys today, see what they say. I am getting sick of waiting for Emotiva to upgrade my processor and Big Dan said if you can"t wait go somewhere else which is pretty shitty attitude. It was due out first quarter of 2017 and really that was 2yrs too late already. I will compare notes with you once they get back to me.

Last edited by Socketman; 12/08/17 07:14 PM.

DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427374 12/09/17 02:29 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
That sucks I thought Emotiva had the upgrade available already.
Their site has been promoting it for a while looks like a chip module very similar to the units NAD has.

Hope they can help.

When I was last their was scoping the new Cambridge CX200 it's only 7.1 but big beautiful 41 Lbs. of English power.
Dangerous neighbourhood within about a mile any direction you can find about 6 audiophile shops. {To much to see}
Get stuck browsing for days

Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427375 12/09/17 02:59 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
I talked to a guy on chat on their web page and asked for a quote and gave my email. they emailed me and explained i needed a bunch of amps etc but didnt give me a price. I have emailed them back hopefully they can get back to me. As for Emotiva they are just so small of a company and their main revenue is amplifiers so they seem to focus on them for the most part. It took them for ever to get the XMC-1 to market but i waited becasue of the promise of the ability to upgrade it. I will be in an old folks home before i get to experience ATMOS at the rate they move. They just keep bumping the date forward, and even when it comes out i live so far away that it will be some time before i can even partake. Its sad really but the Anthem is a nice unit and canadian made so win win. Just tired of the excuses, time to move on.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427392 12/10/17 03:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 592
Likes: 1
There's a shop in Smithers that carries Paradigm\Anthem.
Has been there forever might be easier to get compared to a trip all the way here again.

With your set up they should know you only need a four channel for the atmos. channels? Surprising the guy knew of AXIOM so I would think they know the XMC-1 is a pre\pro.? If that 4 channel plays nice is a whole other ball game though.

Re: Anthem or Marantz
brendo #427398 12/10/17 05:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
My parents still live in the valley ,they could pick it up or my bro inlaw so no issue there. Im from that neck of the woods, just too many people for my liking.. I found another XPA 3 gen 1 for 650 shipped so that would go good with my XPA 5 and XPA 3. Going to give emo a bit more time but we will see. The XMC sounds so damn good i really hate to bail on it.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,360
Posts431,621
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,680
CV 11,797
MarkSJohnson 11,449
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4