You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#426982 - 11/11/17 12:18 PM Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV
mreed Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/05
Posts: 119
Setup is as follows, very simple. Fios box and samsung bluray go through Denon AVR to TV. Denon is set for Fios box to be standby source. So I take a second samsung bluray, plug it directly into the TV, one connect box actually, And add it to the Samsung remote using the onscreen remote setup and all sorts of things go wrong. Firsti, the TV doesn't seem to,understand that there are 2 blurays even though one shouldnt even be accessible since its not switched on in the Denon. The functions operate both blurays at the same time. Maybe its because they are both samsung, i dont know. Then when you switch the source to go back to watching TV it somehow switched the Denon to the bluray source even though the Denon wasnt even involved, is still in standby mode and should be on the fios source. In order to watch tv again I have to turn the Denon on then back off. Im out of ideas and could really use some assistance. Who would have though you cant just plug in a bluray and turn it on?

Top
#426983 - 11/11/17 12:23 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
Serenity_then Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1565
Loc: PEI, Canada
Turn HDMI CEC off on your Denon and Denon connected bluray.

Turn it on on the TV and blurry connected directly to it.

I think on Samsung stuff it's called anynet+
_________________________
Trevor. Cold turkey. Thanks guys. Cheers.

Top
#426984 - 11/11/17 12:36 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
mreed Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/05
Posts: 119
Its turned off on everything.

Top
#426985 - 11/11/17 12:38 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
mreed Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/05
Posts: 119
Oh, misread whst you wrote. Ill try that now

Top
#426986 - 11/11/17 01:25 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
mreed Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/05
Posts: 119
Thank you SO much for your help! That didnt work but you did lead me to the culprit. Turns out In all the frustration I never turned off cec in the new bluray. Now that its off, the denon is no longer switching inputs. How in the world a bluray connected to a tv is making its way back down to the denon to switch its inputs is beyond me. That was really the biggest issue because this whole exercise is about making movies easy for the wife. So, thats resolved but I still have bluray command problems. I guess its because theyre both samsung, I dont know. Seems I can get around most of it by using the manual controls on the unit for power on/off and eject which she'll be fine with.

Top
#426989 - 11/11/17 07:57 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
Serenity_then Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1565
Loc: PEI, Canada
HDMI Cec is kinda clunky. One of those cures for a problem that doesn't really exist.....

You can always just cover up the ir eye on the bluray player you don't want to control when you aren't using it. Not really ideal I know. smile I think on some denons the hdmi Cec can be set individually per input/output. You may have to set it per the hdmi port the urc bluray is hooked up to and globally in the general settings.

I've only messed with one recently and I disabled it everywhere I could.
_________________________
Trevor. Cold turkey. Thanks guys. Cheers.

Top
#426991 - 11/11/17 09:22 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2244
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Too right Trev. CEC is hopelessly flawed, ARC is pretty broken as well, iv been lucky and have ti working but it more common for it not to work especially with samsung for some reason. Maybe earc will be better.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#426996 - 11/12/17 08:45 AM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
mreed Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/05
Posts: 119
Not a bad idea, covering the eye, ill try it. I think ive had my fill of cec, arc too for that matter, worked fine on my old panasonic plasma but never got it working on this samsung. Never got the roku working either. When I first bought this TV, about a year ago, I simply swapped it out with the Panasonic, attached the cables and nothing worked. Couldnt even just watch TV. I researched and shopped for months, waited for it to go on sale, paid alomost $3000 for the thing, had to replace and move the wall bracket to accomodate the bigger size and it didn't work. Aftr several hours of frustration I called samsung support. They remoted into the TV and it took them a couple of hours to get everyhing working. Lord knows how it could be so complicated. Maybe it was just something about this particular unit.

Top
#426997 - 11/12/17 12:42 PM Re: Help with adding Bluray to new Samsung TV [Re: mreed]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1783
Loc: Canada
"Smart" tvs lol
_________________________
Sitting pretty.M80's still providing.4 paradigm subs, 12,10's & an 8.Still changing shit around.Lol.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,244 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,029 Topics
424,384 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
2 registered (Kevin1, Dundas)
186 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup