You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » replacing an aging laptop

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#427948 - 12/27/17 08:42 AM replacing an aging laptop
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I lost my pretty good laptop to my 13 year old daughter. I got stuck with a really old Compaq Pentium unit that doesn't have enough power to run the OS let alone any apps. I need a new one.

I don't want to spend myself broke, but it makes little sense to underbuy. I saw a 17" HP i5-7200 that looks to have pretty decent specs for $700. For $900 there is an Acer 15.6" i7-8550 that has almost double the cpu power, but loses some of the bluetooth and usb features but a higher res screen, but bit more money.

Would it make more sense to buy up in power with the idea that I generally keep a laptop for 4-5 years. I am going to be using it for doing my podcasts, DJ parties, bit of surfing.

The thought that the 17" screen gives more real estate so my really bad eyesight might welcome that. The smaller screen however will be easier to lug around.

Also I do realize that laptops come up on sale all the time so it's not like i am getting a stellar great deal just because it is around boxing day.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#427949 - 12/27/17 10:36 AM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
norap Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/24/17
Posts: 61
Loc: Ontario
Hi Matman
The I7-8500 is a powerful processor but the I5-7200 is no slouch. IMO , given that you plan to use it for media streaming/processing I would be looking more at the Ram and Vid card/Sound card specs. In the home environment, an external monitor can always be used to give your eyesight some assistance so the screen size may only be a concern when used portable.The superior USB and Bluetooth features etc. could be important given that laptops don't lend themselves to upgrades as easily as do desktops.There are so many choices out there that it can be mind boggling.Probably best to take the same approach to the laptop purchase as you would your audio gear and you wont be disappointed
Ken.
_________________________
LFR 1100s QS8s QS2s ADA1500 EP350
Yam RX-A3050, Polk CSI A6, Klipsh B10B, SVSPB2000,PSW125x2




Top
#427951 - 12/27/17 01:52 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 364
Loc: West coast Canada
For what you're looking for most prefer Mac products.
Know a couple DJs that swear by them, plus if you go to hip hop shows that's what they all have lately.{MACBOOK}

My self have used HP products since the I series release with no problems, currently I7. To which as long as you have a decent soundcard you know it should be good to go.
Unless you plan to go full DJ of course.

Top
#427954 - 12/27/17 07:08 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I have a Hercules P8 dj mixer that has dual soundcards inside of it. But the software will work with any sound output card you define. for the backyard parties, I was planning on using my M3 computer speakers as they can get pretty loud with the 75watt amp onside of them. It's not like I am doing a concert level rager.

As for my podcasts, they are all audio ones, so it's not like any real video processing is taking place. I have an 27" iMac retina with an i7 for that.

But both of the computers I was looking at are now sold out so I guess I will just wait for a while longer and see if there is anything else that catches my eye. Hope that procrastination was my friend.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#427957 - 12/27/17 09:58 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
fwiw i have a HP Envy Core i7 17 inch and i am quite happy with it,has been trouble free. I use it mostly for dirac and REW which is why i bought it. I use a bit when sitting in bed though it is quite heavy and cumbersome for that purpose. My main reason for buying it is becasue i cant stand the matt screens most computers come with, i prefer glossy.I have 2 HP monitors both with the gloss screen. This lappy has beats speakers system in it but tbh its not very good ,but hey its a laptop so yeah its to be expected. I got mine at staples, they usually have pretty good deals , i think i paid around a grand.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427969 - 12/29/17 01:03 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I went out yesterday to HomeDepot to buy a new filtered water system, sheet of mdf and some lightbulbs. Turns out they don't sell complete water filter systems anymore, so you are stuck buying all the individual components separately. Nor do they sell mdf in the thickness I need. The bulbs were $38 for 6 as they only sell led in the size i needed and someone wants to make a big profit.

So I left in disgust and just happened to notice a Bestbuy across the street. Needless to say, HomeDepot didn't make any sale and BestBuy did.

I ended up with a 15.6" Acer i7 with 12gb ram and an SSD. I sort of sucks that it has two usb2 and only a single usb3 but it does have a usbc as well but I don't have anything that works with those. It is about the same size as one of the older macbookpro (circa 2014). it doesn't have a CD/DVD drive but I was told by Apple that those are now obsolete.

It is rather cool that you can get from powered off to fully loaded in about 2-3 seconds. who needs sleep mode. And it is really light.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#427970 - 12/29/17 02:23 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Sounds like you scored exactly what you were looking for, congrats. Honestly your right, an optical drive really isnt needed anymore, mine has a bd drive and the only time its been open is when i pick up the laptop the wrong way and it pops open.Hopefully it has an HDMI out, those are very handy to have especially for REW if you ever get the urge.You have chosen well grasshopper.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#427972 - 12/29/17 06:38 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4700
I'm running a 486 with Win3.1. I browse with Telnet using HTTP commands. vsav and msaf are all I use for AV. Sometimes I use my Commodore64 with Hyperlink 2.5e.

Top
#427975 - 12/29/17 07:47 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
i remember the day we moved from a 300baud modem to 1200. it was lightning fast and we were in heaven.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#427976 - 12/29/17 07:51 PM Re: replacing an aging laptop [Re: MatManhasgone]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
yes the laptop does have an HDMI output and even supports the full hdcp compliance. The laptop is pretty thin and i sort of dislike the way they made the RJ45 network port. it has sort of a hinge on it that opens up to allow the plug in. i know it looks like it will break any moment if it gets used on a regular basis. Sort of sucks but the Wireless AC has moved to a point now that it is pretty rock stable and gives close to the same bandwidth as a copper cable network connection.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,015 Topics
424,275 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
172 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup