You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Adding an Amp?

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#429510 - 06/05/18 06:02 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: aarons]
aarons Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/17/16
Posts: 132
So! Back to this, I finally did decide to figure out a way to add another sub even the "recreational director" was opposed. I found a spot in the rear of the room where it could be mostly hidden from normal view. After a bit of manipulation and adding a vibration isolation pad under the sub, the room now holds huge bass with no vibration problems and the wife is totally fine with the look of it. Win Win...

Now onto my issue with my center channel......I messed around with the center placement and such inside the cavity. Didn't make the biggest difference. HOWEVER!!! I did decide to try some decoupling of the cavity as I was also getting in wall vibrations when the bass from the center kicked in. I built a box 1" smaller than the cavity out of MDF. I then bought 3/4" rubber vibration isolation pads (same as I used under my sub) and lined the cavity fully with those. Also on the inside of the new box. So I now have a box within a box completely decoupled from the original cavity and wrapped in rubber vibration control. I placed the center speaker back inside the new box and surrounded it fully with foam pads and pillows which I picked up at the local Walmart in the bedding section.. :-). Turns out my issue was an echo that was being created during dialog only scenes. Wasn't as noticeable during explosions due to the sheer volume (however the vibrations inside my walls certainly were). This new design completely solved my problem. The VP160 sounds as amazing as everyone always said it would. It was just my original design that was the problem.....


Edited by aarons (06/05/18 06:07 PM)
_________________________
It all matters.....just not very much.

Top
#429526 - 06/07/18 02:57 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: aarons]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6217
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
That's great news, and thanks for the details.

It's amazing what we have to do some times to get room etc.. to stop interfering with the speakers.
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC+ 20-39
M5HP, M40
LFR1100 actives picked up Friday 13th

Top
#429527 - 06/07/18 05:56 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: bridgman]
aarons Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/17/16
Posts: 132
Ha that’s right! I even had to pull the sconces off the walls and put weather stripping behind them to get them to stop vibrating. Happy as can be now! Until my upgradeitis kicks in again for my fronts.... I anticipate that will be next
_________________________
It all matters.....just not very much.

Top
#429528 - 06/08/18 02:31 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: aarons]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 484
Loc: West coast Canada
Careful if you anticipate the feeling of upgraditis will be stronger.

Congrats sometimes it takes a little extra to get things just right. Glad you solved your issues relatively easy.

I have a Z lines T.V. stand I've added burly rubber feet to all shelves. It has no issues with my V.P.160 or equipment, though the T.V. mount section rattles like crazy if the T.V.s volume goes to high. Probably should find a way to rubberize its connection points.

Top
#429529 - 06/08/18 04:15 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: aarons]
aarons Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/17/16
Posts: 132
Yes! I found through trial and error there are a lot of ways to stop vibration. This little pad they make for under legs on furniture have been helpful for me in random places too.... like behind my replica Braveheart sword where the hilt meets the wall....
_________________________
It all matters.....just not very much.

Top
#429530 - 06/08/18 06:37 PM Re: Adding an Amp? [Re: aarons]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6217
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By aarons
Ha that’s right! I even had to pull the sconces off the walls and put weather stripping behind them to get them to stop vibrating.

Yeah... I had all kinds of problems with rattling subwoofers... none of which had anything to do with the subwoofer.

The only thing I could blame on the subwoofer was that my SVS cylinder would make an awful "grunk" kind of noise on very bass-heavy scenes... I had to fix that one by adding an EP500 and turning them both down a bit. Everything else was room rattles.
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC+ 20-39
M5HP, M40
LFR1100 actives picked up Friday 13th

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,339 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,204 Topics
428,002 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13611
CV 11734
MarkSJohnson 11445
0 registered ()
265 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup