You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » AxiomAir Discussion » AxiomAir General Discussion » What DAC is used?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#429523 - 06/07/18 12:33 AM What DAC is used?
purist Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 07/06/08
Posts: 11
Loc: El Dorado Hills, CA
May I ask which DAC is used? is it similar to any of the other solutions on the market for the RPi?

I'll be honest, I reaaaally love the speaker, but I reaaaaally hate the software. What I would like to do is replace the RPi2 with an RPi3B and use a Max2Play (www.max2play.com) image to use as a squeezlite player. Would this be possible?

Thoughts/Suggestions?

Current Supported Hardware for DAC's and the Max2Play image are:

HifiBerry
IQaudio
Audiophhonics
Wolfson Cirrus Logic
PiFi
JustBoom
RaspyPlay4
Allo
Durio
_________________________
2xM80, 2xQS8, 1xVP180, 2xEP600

Top
#429524 - 06/07/18 01:13 AM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
purist Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 07/06/08
Posts: 11
Loc: El Dorado Hills, CA
And the answer issssss (drum beat)

Audiophonics I-Sabre-V3!

My Axiom Air is now a full fledged squeezelite player! My MP3 collection, streaming radio, Pandora, Google Music, Spotify are all available now. I can even set it up as a squeezebox server, all using the Max2Play image!

What an awesomely flexible device this is.
_________________________
2xM80, 2xQS8, 1xVP180, 2xEP600

Top
#429532 - 06/09/18 03:16 PM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
TwistedSpirit Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/24/16
Posts: 13
can you share what you did ? I been struggling to have my AA play other music sources instead of just my home flac collection.

Top
#429533 - 06/11/18 07:22 AM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 313
Loc: Sydney Australia
Had a play with Max2Play and had Spotify, DLNA, Airplay and a Google Home (via BT) all working. Does not seem very robust however. I keep losing all audio. Will have to have more of a play next weekend (or look at Volumio again).

It's been along time between firmware updates on the AA. If we had BT working then you could pair a cheap Google Home to it and it would give Spotify.
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#429536 - 06/12/18 07:54 AM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
TwistedSpirit Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/24/16
Posts: 13
Well my only solution so far as it comes to that would be to use a google chromecast audio and use the analog port.

I've been struggling to find a way to use spotify on it.

So far the AA mostly collect dust most of the time since theres no way to use any other service than Tidal with it.

Top
#429554 - 06/16/18 12:47 AM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
purist Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 07/06/08
Posts: 11
Loc: El Dorado Hills, CA
Basically I took a raspberry pi 3 I had laying around, loaded the Max2Play image, go to the Raspberry settings tab and select the Audiophonics device from the dropdown. All you need to do then is reboot. Now go to the squeezebox server tab and install the server, I installed the latest build. Within the squeezebox server connect to mysqueezebox.com where you have to register an account. In mysqueezebox.com you can use Pandora by adding from the apps list. You can also add spotify, just got the max2play settings tab and add it as a plugin. I obviously removed the RPi2 from the AA and installed the RPi3.
_________________________
2xM80, 2xQS8, 1xVP180, 2xEP600

Top
#429775 - 08/07/18 06:30 PM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
TwistedSpirit Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/24/16
Posts: 13
I've been trying Volumio on the AA, but can't figure out what type of DAC is beeing used ? I imagine it's not out of the box, but has someone figured how to have a Volumio setup working on the AA with the proper settings?

Top
#429898 - 08/23/18 09:09 PM Re: What DAC is used? [Re: purist]
Yodalogger Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/25/18
Posts: 4
Loc: St. Louis MO
Has anyone had any good experiences with a 3rd party DAC connected to the analog input?

Top

Moderator:  Andrew, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,279 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,088 Topics
425,341 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11709
MarkSJohnson 11444
2 registered (Gr8_White_North, bridgman)
175 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup