Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Adding an Amp?
aarons #429510 06/05/18 10:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
aarons Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
So! Back to this, I finally did decide to figure out a way to add another sub even the "recreational director" was opposed. I found a spot in the rear of the room where it could be mostly hidden from normal view. After a bit of manipulation and adding a vibration isolation pad under the sub, the room now holds huge bass with no vibration problems and the wife is totally fine with the look of it. Win Win...

Now onto my issue with my center channel......I messed around with the center placement and such inside the cavity. Didn't make the biggest difference. HOWEVER!!! I did decide to try some decoupling of the cavity as I was also getting in wall vibrations when the bass from the center kicked in. I built a box 1" smaller than the cavity out of MDF. I then bought 3/4" rubber vibration isolation pads (same as I used under my sub) and lined the cavity fully with those. Also on the inside of the new box. So I now have a box within a box completely decoupled from the original cavity and wrapped in rubber vibration control. I placed the center speaker back inside the new box and surrounded it fully with foam pads and pillows which I picked up at the local Walmart in the bedding section.. :-). Turns out my issue was an echo that was being created during dialog only scenes. Wasn't as noticeable during explosions due to the sheer volume (however the vibrations inside my walls certainly were). This new design completely solved my problem. The VP160 sounds as amazing as everyone always said it would. It was just my original design that was the problem.....

Last edited by aarons; 06/05/18 10:07 PM.

It all matters.....just not very much.
Re: Adding an Amp?
aarons #429526 06/07/18 06:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,339
Likes: 3
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,339
Likes: 3
That's great news, and thanks for the details.

It's amazing what we have to do some times to get room etc.. to stop interfering with the speakers.


M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC-Plus 20-39
M5HP, M40ti, Sierra-1
LFR1100 active, ADA1500-4 and -8
Re: Adding an Amp?
bridgman #429527 06/07/18 09:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
aarons Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
Ha that’s right! I even had to pull the sconces off the walls and put weather stripping behind them to get them to stop vibrating. Happy as can be now! Until my upgradeitis kicks in again for my fronts.... I anticipate that will be next


It all matters.....just not very much.
Re: Adding an Amp?
aarons #429528 06/08/18 06:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 626
Likes: 2
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 626
Likes: 2
Careful if you anticipate the feeling of upgraditis will be stronger.

Congrats sometimes it takes a little extra to get things just right. Glad you solved your issues relatively easy.

I have a Z lines T.V. stand I've added burly rubber feet to all shelves. It has no issues with my V.P.160 or equipment, though the T.V. mount section rattles like crazy if the T.V.s volume goes to high. Probably should find a way to rubberize its connection points.

Re: Adding an Amp?
aarons #429529 06/08/18 08:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
aarons Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 140
Yes! I found through trial and error there are a lot of ways to stop vibration. This little pad they make for under legs on furniture have been helpful for me in random places too.... like behind my replica Braveheart sword where the hilt meets the wall....


It all matters.....just not very much.
Re: Adding an Amp?
aarons #429530 06/08/18 10:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,339
Likes: 3
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,339
Likes: 3
Originally Posted By aarons
Ha that’s right! I even had to pull the sconces off the walls and put weather stripping behind them to get them to stop vibrating.

Yeah... I had all kinds of problems with rattling subwoofers... none of which had anything to do with the subwoofer.

The only thing I could blame on the subwoofer was that my SVS cylinder would make an awful "grunk" kind of noise on very bass-heavy scenes... I had to fix that one by adding an EP500 and turning them both down a bit. Everything else was room rattles.


M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC-Plus 20-39
M5HP, M40ti, Sierra-1
LFR1100 active, ADA1500-4 and -8
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,437
Posts433,077
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,694
CV 11,829
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 202 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4