You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » AxiomAir Discussion » AxiomAir General Discussion » RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#430807 - 12/29/18 09:54 PM RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration?
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
I've a RP1 (Axiom Air in a box) that I'd like to use to feed an outdoor PA System. The PA System is powered by a single GPO Switch than can turn on/off the circuit all the equipment is plugged into.

The RP1 does not boot when power is restored, and you have to press the little white button. Given the equipment is racked this is a no go.

Is there a way of making the RP1 boot on power restoration? I'm happy to make HW Mods as well.

Thanks
Nathan
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#430859 - 01/05/19 04:02 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur

Registered: 03/13/01
Posts: 1311
Hi Nathan,

I was chatting with Andrew about this and neither he or I could come up with a way to make this work. Do you have the option to just leave the RP1 on when the other gear is shut down?
_________________________
Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer

Top
#430861 - 01/05/19 05:03 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6308
Use a solenoid with a time delay to depress the button for a second.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5,M3,M50 v4
had v2
Air N2 (someday)

Top
#430867 - 01/05/19 06:54 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
The system get used rarely so I'd prefer not to leave it on for what could be months between use. I also was thinking about a mechanical setup like Mojo suggested but in Googling this it seems there are various ways of doing this by shorting some pins that the hat uses and I presume that is what the little white button does.

The other option may be a variation of what Mojo's idea. How about say a Timer Switch that could just short the contacts on the back of the white button for XX Seconds - something like - https://www.jaycar.com.au/12v-3a-timer-module-2-seconds-to-23-minutes/p/AA0364
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#430869 - 01/05/19 07:02 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6308
Yeah...I was thinking of that but it gets tricky because you can easily introduce noise into the circuit. That button switch circuit wasn't intended to have external leads connected to it.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5,M3,M50 v4
had v2
Air N2 (someday)

Top
#430870 - 01/05/19 07:10 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
I'm an electronic NooB but would't the it be isolated once the timer relay was back to the open position?
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#430871 - 01/05/19 07:15 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
Also I don't know what power source to tap without issues without causing issues as well (would prefer not to tap the actual 230V Mains input) and if it 5 / 12 / ?? Volt DC.
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#430873 - 01/05/19 07:41 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6308
Originally Posted By jmone
I'm an electronic NooB but would't the it be isolated once the timer relay was back to the open position?


Those are wires going from the relay to the board and every wire is an antenna. No idea what those antennas will pick up and how the Air electronics will respond. Also when the relay contacts close, they will bounce. Not sure if the button switch is de-bounced internally. It doesn't need to be if a human finger is pushing it.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5,M3,M50 v4
had v2
Air N2 (someday)

Top
#430874 - 01/05/19 08:47 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
Mmmm quick test is the Power Supply board is pushing out 20v DC.

Shorting the contacts on the button works to initiate power up of the Pi.
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
#430884 - 01/06/19 02:18 PM Re: RP1 - How to make it Boot on Power Restoration? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 353
Loc: Sydney Australia
The local electronics store said they had what I want, a Variable Timer with One Shot mode for the relay.... but it was in "Kit" form and I also need a VREG to drop the voltage down to 12v for the kit. Kit form, Soldering! What am I 12?
https://www.jaycar.com.au/the-flexitimer-kit/p/KA1732

Easy they said. Yeah Right. The instructions make little sense to me so just soldered it all together using the picture instead. Scratched my head on that lack of info for what the jumpers do. What could possible go wrong.

Plugged it in to the RP1's PSU daughter board anyway, and it was working! ...but in Interval mode, with the relay turning on and off every 10 sec or so. Found (I think) the jumper to turn it into one shot mode but I've cooked a resister (both on the Axiom PSU daughter board and the Kit).

Back to the Electronics Shop today for parts and more advice!
_________________________
HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Andrew, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,351 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,215 Topics
428,510 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13625
CV 11735
MarkSJohnson 11445
2 registered (alan, Dundas)
132 Guests and
1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup