You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Output setting

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#431280 - 02/13/19 08:05 PM Output setting
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1957
Loc: Canada
Today I changed a setting on my Panasonic bluray player while listening to CD's and thought I would share after I recognized the instant change in sound.
My bluray player is connected by HDMI and has a built in option to select HDMI as the output for audio or to allow the player to decide (auto).
I changed it to auto and the moment I did the SQ improved.
My player is still connected by HDMI but my AVR display confirms an analog signal is playing.

It sounds more complete.
_________________________
Currently 2 vintage axioms rear rears 2 QS8's for side surrounds and a ADA-1000-4 powering 3 M80HP's

Top
#431281 - 02/13/19 11:15 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6539
What prompted you to experiment so wildly?
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2, N3 someday

Top
#431282 - 02/14/19 01:27 AM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1957
Loc: Canada
I changed 1 thing. Lol.
I didn't know it was there previously.
I certainly wouldn't have expected quite as much change.
More good news when I stop. Lol.
_________________________
Currently 2 vintage axioms rear rears 2 QS8's for side surrounds and a ADA-1000-4 powering 3 M80HP's

Top
#431285 - 02/14/19 05:48 AM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6539
How does it feel to discover something new?
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2, N3 someday

Top
#431286 - 02/14/19 12:02 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1957
Loc: Canada
Did you know you could pass analog through HDMI? I've been under the impression its a digital signal cable.
I need to try on pure direct and see if the signal changes back/shows 2.1 or anything other than "analog".

Edit: With respect to experimenting I was sure I already had it on the best option (PCM).I would have expected the same sound from both settings given the same information is being sent over the same cable.

Edit:To confirm it already sounded good. Now it simply sounds better.


Edited by brwsaw (02/14/19 12:08 PM)
_________________________
Currently 2 vintage axioms rear rears 2 QS8's for side surrounds and a ADA-1000-4 powering 3 M80HP's

Top
#431287 - 02/14/19 12:10 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1957
Loc: Canada
My hope is someone else will read this and experience the same change.

1% for free.


Edited by brwsaw (02/14/19 12:12 PM)
_________________________
Currently 2 vintage axioms rear rears 2 QS8's for side surrounds and a ADA-1000-4 powering 3 M80HP's

Top
#431288 - 02/14/19 08:07 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6539
Yes, maybe others can benefit.

I always expected that HDMI cables could be used for analog signals. It's a very tight tolerance cable designed for digital and that also makes it great for analog. However, the distance has to be kept to within a few feet because the gauge is small.

I think the problem with PCM is it has to be converted at least twice before it gets amplified. If the conversions aren't clean, a lot of nasties degrade the signal.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2, N3 someday

Top
#431303 - 02/15/19 02:25 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1957
Loc: Canada
So would you recommend an actual analog connection or switching back to Bitstream?


Edited by brwsaw (02/15/19 02:26 PM)
_________________________
Currently 2 vintage axioms rear rears 2 QS8's for side surrounds and a ADA-1000-4 powering 3 M80HP's

Top
#431305 - 02/15/19 03:23 PM Re: Output setting [Re: brwsaw]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6539
I recommend whatever sounds better. I'd expect analog to sound better provided the cable isn't ridiculously long and not immersed in an electromagnetic battlefield.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2, N3 someday

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,362 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,230 Topics
428,989 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13629
CV 11735
MarkSJohnson 11445
4 registered (BBIBH, bman84, Rock_Head, Mojo)
340 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup