You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Starting all over

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#435695 - 02/16/20 02:33 AM Starting all over
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1699
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
Greetings, been away a long time. Lurking occasionally. Moved 3 years ago and my Axiom's have been in their shipping boxes since, sniff. Spent much of that time remodeling this house, other hobbies or being lazy. Anyway I'm finally to the point of building my new, dedicated HT space!

I'm going to be diving into the world of projection this time and trying to squeeze two rows of seating in the space I have. It's going to be interesting but my question to everyone is more about trying to hide my M80/VP180v3's behind a false wall. Space will be tight so I would need to have them all the way back, basically (nearly) touching the wall. If I plugged all the ports would there be a chance everything could work that way? In my last home I had them about 6+ inches off the wall. I do still love being able to listen to 2 channel audio but if I had to pick it's primary function, it's going to be about an immersive movie experience.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so here are a few to visualize what I'm trying to do.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZGGkfD5X7BKiBnrs7 - layout
https://photos.app.goo.gl/dVK6PxKvECfGmCER8 - facing screen
https://photos.app.goo.gl/tV3XeukrfYw8ZNon9 - facing speakers
https://photos.app.goo.gl/oCWJqTZV4KCFabGY8 - IRL
https://photos.app.goo.gl/kZRFrF8MRSsABivE9 - distance calc
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0
HT v1.0

Top
#435700 - 02/16/20 07:22 AM Re: Starting all over [Re: INANE]
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur

Registered: 03/13/01
Posts: 1361
Hi INANE,

You can plug the rear ports and make this work no problem, but there may be a cleaner way to do it that would also give you more space in your room. I you trade-in your current v3 M80s and VP180 for the v4 in-cabinet version we can make the in-cabinet version any depth you like from 3.5" to 18" which would allow you to push your false wall back.
_________________________
Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer

Top
#435701 - 02/16/20 08:59 AM Re: Starting all over [Re: INANE]
bman84 Offline
local

Registered: 09/29/18
Posts: 215
Loc: Toronto, Ontario
Those viewing distance numbers seem a bit off. Ideally, you'd want to sit about 10ft away from a 100" screen. At that distance, you would still benefit from 4K.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/by-size/size-to-distance-relationship
_________________________
Axiom M5HP VP160 M3 ADA1000
Anthem MRX 720
SVS SB-3000 (dual)

Top
#435705 - 02/16/20 02:24 PM Re: Starting all over [Re: INANE]
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1699
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
I may look into the trade-in program but my need to put the subs up front may limit my ability to change the wall depth.

As for the distance to screen, I'm still researching but I think as calculators go, it's not apples to apples when using the same calc for TVs vs Projectors. Seems pixel shifting (esp with DLP chips) techniques help to hide those pesky pixels from showing up when you sit closer even on 1080p sources.
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0
HT v1.0

Top
#435718 - 02/17/20 03:22 AM Re: Starting all over [Re: INANE]
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur

Registered: 03/13/01
Posts: 1361
We can also make our In-cabinet subs less deep by increasing the height and width to achieve the same cabinet volume. With our In-cabinet subs the amp and controls come in a separate chassis that goes with the rest of your equipment and you run speaker wires to the In-cabinet subs. This also frees up cabinet volume to allow them to be less deep.
_________________________
Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer

Top
#435725 - 02/17/20 08:46 PM Re: Starting all over [Re: Ian]
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1699
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
Originally Posted By Ian
We can also make our In-cabinet subs less deep by increasing the height and width to achieve the same cabinet volume. With our In-cabinet subs the amp and controls come in a separate chassis that goes with the rest of your equipment and you run speaker wires to the In-cabinet subs. This also frees up cabinet volume to allow them to be less deep.


Thanks for the information! I wasn't aware of the sub amps being separate. More options the better.
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0
HT v1.0

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,405 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,328 Topics
430,862 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13675
CV 11754
MarkSJohnson 11445
2 registered (Kodiak, elsewhere)
116 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup