I am gradually building up my system. Here is what I currently have:
Denon 3805
M60
Sanyo DVM-6100 (DVD/VCR combo)
1 Dish Satelite Receiver (DishPro 311)
Toshiba TV
SVS PB1-ISD sub
Others to be added later!

I am having a problem with the connections. Unfortunately, the 3805 Manual is not helpful. Their suggestions are not working.

The Sanyo also plays CD and MP3. So far I got the audio part working by connecting the Audio Out on Sanyo to Audio In (DVD) on 3805 with RCA. That has been my only success. The Toshiba TV has S-Video but no Component Video slots. The Sanyo has S and Component Video slots. I have had no success with the video. How do I connect the Dish Receiver and the Sanyo to the 3805 items to receive audio and video on the TV and get my music as well? I am a newbie so please let your directions be very detailed and specific! Thanks

Re: Connection Problems
#44618 05/03/04 11:30 PM
shareholder in the making
Since your TV only has S-video, you can safely ignore the component video jacks. Make sure you connect the Sanyo's digital coax output to one of the two digital coax inputs on your receiver (located on the bottom left if looking directly at the back of the unit). That will give you sound for DVDs. Then for CD/MP3 audio, connect a stero-pair of RCA cables from the Sanyo to the CD inputs on the back of the Denon.

Also, connect the s-video from the DVD player to the S-video DVD in on your receiver. Do the same for the Dish receiver, except plug it into the DBS s-video slot. Then connect the S-video monitor out from the receiver to the S-video in on the TV. That should do it. Pages 7 - 9 of the Denon manual show detailed pics of the above process.

#44619 05/04/04 12:10 AM
K
kay Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
K
Thanks,pmbuko. I'll try it right away.

#44620 05/04/04 03:13 PM
aficionado
aficionado
Kay,