Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980

Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
3 registered (a401classic, Ian, michelangelo), 47 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
13,383 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,235 Topics
411,627 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17936
pmbuko 16359
SirQuack 13357
CV 11476
MarkSJohnson 11218
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#45826 - 05/13/04 03:27 PM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
kapone Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/09/04
Posts: 19
Loc: Rockville, MD
Well, I just bought a Denon 3805, not the Yamaha, BUT my buddy has the 1400 and we played with his set for a lil while before, In my opinion (keyword .. mine, remember a lot of these things are subjective) the YPAO did an outstanding job of setting up his sound and level parameters.

So, have I changed my opinion, No, I may just get a Yammy from the local Tweeter and try it to see how it sounds with my speakers and check out the YPAO.

#45827 - 05/13/04 05:47 PM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
mac60 Offline

Registered: 03/14/04
Posts: 28
I used it in the beggining but ended up doing everything manually. I like the way I set it up way better. Just the PEQ vs GEQ makes a huge difference in sound.

Set it up with YPAO and then start experimenting. You'll do plenty of that!

#45828 - 05/14/04 01:09 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10494
Jose, definitely use YPAO. I'd suggest setting it to skip the speaker size and crossover frequency adjustments and instead manually setting those to the THX recommendation of all speakers "small" and a 80Hz crossover. Another point I've found is that it may give better results(although this might not apply to your listening room)to set the equalization to give preference in adjustments to the "low" area, rather than "flat", which tends to use its limited equalization assets over the entire frequency range equally.

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.

#45829 - 05/14/04 11:40 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
CooLJ92 Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/12/04
Posts: 65
Loc: California
The threats that real80sman lists are the ones I was reffering too.

Thanks for all of your suggestions.
Onkyo TX-SR805
Outdoor Algonquins

#45830 - 05/15/04 07:25 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
real80sman Offline

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1156
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Cool - no threats. You said that "you read somewhere" - I just refreshed your memory as to where you read it.

I have absolutely no experience with ypao (or the like) as I am a 2.1ch guy. So I can neither condemn or endorse such features.

In the future, I am looking to upgrade to a 6.1 system and for movies, it may prove usefull. Actually, it would be fun to play around with the settings and see (hear) how things change.

For music though, I am a firm beleiver of "true direct". Bypass as much switching, tone controls, and gagetry as possible.

Epic 80/600 + M3's + M3 Algonquins + M2 Computer + EP125
I think I'm developing an addiction.

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.