Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Just purchased M50s, My God - do I need a new amp?
#4586 07/26/02 07:49 PM
S
OP Offline
S
I am just beginning to build a decent audio system and I have some crucial burning questions and am looking for some expert advice.

I just purchased the M50ti’s. Although they are a far sight better than what I had before, I must admit that I am a little disappointed with imaging, and the high-end is not as present and clear as expected. Bass is a little boomy. I have done a great deal of experimentation with speaker placement (How far should the speakers be from the wall?)

Also, although I am told that the speakers are very efficient, they don’t really seem to shine until played at significant volume. It seems that at low volume the drivers aren’t really kicking in and various frequency ranges are missing. The problem is that I live in an apartment complex (in a unit of modest size - ~10x20 living room, carpet and high ceilings) and so I want good bass, but don’t want it to be boomy, and I need accurate sound reproduction at low volume. Should I be looking at bookshelf speakers such as the Axiom M3ti’s (although I am told they are actually less efficient than the much larger M50ti’s!) or does this all point to my amplifier?

Okay, so I admit: I am using an Optimus STAV-3590 receiver. It’s rated at 150w/ch. It’s got a bass boost (is this a bad sign?) which I am NOT using. Treble control is maxed, bass control is midlined. The goofy AV effects are all turned off.

I am familiar with the concept of Garbage-In Garbage-Out and am wondering: am I completely betraying these speakers? Should I even bother debating over whether to upgrade the 50’s to 60’s or replace them with M3ti’s before replacing my amplifier? I realize that I am sorely in need of an amp upgrade, but just how much of a difference am I going to notice? If I buy a NAD amp am I going to wet my pants and praise the gods?