Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
QS8 Positioning?
#47256 05/28/04 03:32 AM
kayizm Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
I've read a couple of posts but I want to be sure on a few things. I currently have the M60's, VP150no sub.............yet. :-) I am looking to buy the QS8's to now have some sort of "surround sound". My question to you is the placement of them. Ceiling mounting is not an option, I am really not an expert on this but, what would give me the better surround sound, placing them on the side wall so the front of the speaker is "looking at me" directly from each side? Or, behind me and the couch "looking at the big screen TV" ?

Re: QS8 Positioning?
#47257 05/28/04 04:34 AM
axiomite
axiomite
From the Axiom FAQ:

"Where should I place my surround speakers?
Ideally, surround speakers should be either wall-mounted or stand-mounted to either side of the couch or primary listening area, from one to six feet higher than seated listeners' ears, and slightly forward or rearwards of the listening area if you wish. Axiom's Quadpolar surrounds are especially versatile and can yield excellent performance with stand or wall-mounting to the rear as well as at side locations.
"

As you can see from the above, the ideal is on the side walls slightly behind the listening area. Failing that, on the side wall, slightly in front of the listening area is next best. You'll find the QS series speakers will do fine on the back wall if that is a better option for you.

The QS series come with brackets for flush mounting on the walls. It is not necessary to aim them at the listening area, though, if you wish, you may do so using the optional Axiom Full Metal Bracket, or something like the Omnimount wall bracket. .

Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton
#47258 05/28/04 01:34 PM
B
connoisseur
connoisseur
B