Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
0 registered (), 74 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,380 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,217 Topics
411,155 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17932
pmbuko 16357
SirQuack 13357
CV 11473
MarkSJohnson 11198
Meanwhile On Facebook
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#56394 - 08/03/04 04:42 PM Eluding Macrovision
joshxfoo Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/22/04
Posts: 78
Loc: Ann Arbor, MI
I suppose I should be grateful to my dad for giving me an old TV since I wouldn't be able to have one at all otherwise, being a poor college student and all. But, he gave me a Symphonic with integrated VCR. It has only two inputs (and ZERO outputs, mind you) -- composite video and TV (RF).

So, when I plug the composite video output of my girlfriend's cheapo Apex DVD player into the composite input on the TV (either directly or via my Denon AVR-884), I get the unbearable Macrovision continuous fade-in and fade-out because the input is technically on a VCR. Why anyone would manufacture a television incapable of being used in a straighforward manner in conjunction with a DVD player is beyond me.

So I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on eluding Macrovision. I've thought of playing DVDs on my iMac and getting a VGA-to-NTSC converter, but those things cost twice as much as my girlfriend's DVD player and I'd really much rather save money to buy a better TV (and a subwoofer, better DVD player, surrounds, center channel, etc.).

Is there any way to use the TV (RF) input instead? Or perhaps some cheap doohickey that strips out Macrovision? I'm at a loss here, and I'd really like to be able to watch DVDs without getting a headache.

UPDATE: I've just discovered that, supposedly, some DVD players allow you to disable Macrovision. If anyone knows of any Universal DVD/CD players which do this, I'd love to hear about it as I might be able to just go that route.

I've also come across the supposed existence of Macrovision "stabilizers" which remove Macrovision from the video signal, but these, too, seem to cost a lot of money I'm not willing to spend for a short-term fix.


Edited by joshxfoo (08/03/04 04:51 PM)

Top
#56395 - 08/03/04 05:03 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
bigjohn Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/04
Posts: 3016
Loc: San Angelo, TX
go to class!!

dont you have a lab or something!!

bigjohn
_________________________
EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU THE SINGING BUSH??

Top
#56396 - 08/03/04 05:07 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
Capn_Pickard Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/04
Posts: 1056
Loc: Arlington, VA (NOVA)
Have you thought about an RF converter? This device (about $20 at Rat shack) converts the composite video source into an RF signal, which can be paired up with a regular wall cable box, and you can play DVDs as if they were regular cable, thereby by-passing the vcr part (ostensibly).

Granted, this comes with drawbacks of its own. Namely, you're downconverting the DVD to cable quality, and there can be some serious interference issues if the cable run between the DVD player and the RF converter box is too long. (Seriously, that's not cable snake oil crap - it happened to me - my cable run was too long, so I had to coil it back on itself, and I got weird ghosting and fuzzy images and poor color. ONce I cut the cord, things got much, much better).

Shortcomings aside - the signal that gets passed from the DVD to the TV through the RF converter is still reasonably good. It is better than normal cable and will be better than VHS. Considering that the TV is the limiting factor in this equation, you probably won't even notice the difference between the RF and the composite signals.

Anyway - give it a try, it may fix the macrophasing.

Top
#56397 - 08/03/04 05:11 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
joshxfoo Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/22/04
Posts: 78
Loc: Ann Arbor, MI
In reply to:

go to class!




It's the summer, man! Instead of going to classes, I surf the Internet and drink beer.

Come to think of it, the summer isn't really all that different from the school year after all


Edited by joshxfoo (08/03/04 05:12 PM)

Top
#56398 - 08/03/04 05:16 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
bigjohn Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/04
Posts: 3016
Loc: San Angelo, TX
sounds like a fun summer..

be sure and tidy-up the dorm before your roommate returns from summer vacation.

NOTE- condoms can fly amazingly far when thrown from a 4th story window!!

bigjohn
_________________________
EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU THE SINGING BUSH??

Top
#56399 - 08/03/04 05:57 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16357
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I sure hope you tied it off before throwing it...
_________________________

I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#56400 - 08/03/04 06:03 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
bigjohn Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/04
Posts: 3016
Loc: San Angelo, TX
peter- are our minds ALWAYS in the gutter..

(insert fart joke).....

bigjohn
_________________________
EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU THE SINGING BUSH??

Top
#56401 - 08/03/04 06:08 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16357
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
no, just your condoms, you sick bastard.
_________________________

I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#56402 - 08/03/04 06:38 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
glangston Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 05/23/04
Posts: 24
Momitsu DVD player can disable Macrovision.

Top
#56403 - 08/03/04 06:57 PM Re: Eluding Macrovision
joshxfoo Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/22/04
Posts: 78
Loc: Ann Arbor, MI
In reply to:

Momitsu DVD player can disable Macrovision.




That may very well be true, but they cannot play SACDs or DVD-As and all of the swanky network features require a Windows PC, which I do not have. So I really don't feel like it would be a worthwhile investment.

Thanks for the suggestion anyway!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.