Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M22 Vs. JMlab Chorus 706
#5804 09/18/02 03:43 PM
Danny Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
I recently purchased a pair of Axiom M22's, and I was very impressed by them. Much more bass than what I expected, based on reading a review. Treble and midrange are great; yea I'm new to all this, so bear with me!
I had visited one of the local high end shops, before I bought the M22's,and the guy said they had just started carrying JMlab speakers. I listened to the Chorus 706, and they sounded great. So I wanted to bring them home and compare them with the Axioms. I have an Onkyo TX-8511 Reciever,low/mid-fi I know, and the Axioms sounded better to me. Because of the dual drivers, the M22's produced more bass, which gave them a more full-range sound. As far as the upper ranges, they were pretty much the same; at least to my 'untrained ears'. Plus the M22's are $50 cheaper, and have a 30 day trial period.
I just wanted to share my experience with these speakers with everyone here, for what it's worth.
In the near future, I plan to upgrade to an NAD, Rotel etc. so that should make my M22's sound even better.
My CD player is an Integra CDC-3.1 ; a 6 cd, carousel. Is this a pretty good piece? Mid-fi, or low-end high-fi?
I would like to have a true high-end system one day, but it will be one piece at a time!

Thanks
Danny

Re: M22 Vs. JMlab Chorus 706
#5805 09/18/02 07:56 PM
shareholder in the making
Danny, I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying your M22s. My experience with them over the past 6 months is similar to yours; what a terrific buy!

However, you appear to have bought in to the "low-fi/mid-fi/high-end" line, which, frankly, is nonsense. Your 8511 is excellent and assuming, as is highly likely, that it has adequate power for your room and listening level,no audible improvement will result from "upgrading". Consider spending your money on something that really makes a difference, such as lots more CDs and/or DVDs.