m3 and m22 sensitivity
#704 12/30/01 06:19 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
both the m3's and the m22's look like great speakers based on the reviews i've read. one thing i noticed is that their sensitivities are listed as 93db and 95db, respectively. in two reviews i've read, the m3's have been described as being closer to 89db, and in soundstage magazine's tests --http://www.soundstagemagazine.com/measurements/axiom_m3ti/> and http://www.soundstagemagazine.com/measurements/axiom_m22ti_se/-- they were rated at 86 db and 87.5 db, respectively.

is there something different about the testing methods used by axiom? are the 93 and 95 specs in-room rather than from an anechoic chamber ? i apologize if these questions are stupid--i'm a novice when it comes to this stuff--but as i understand it, a 3 db decrease in sensitivity requires twice the power to drive the speaker at the same volume. as a result, these differences seem significant.

thanks in advance for anyone's input on the subject, and keep up the great work, axiom!

also, is the m22 better than the m3 in every way, or does the m3 have some advantages (other than a lower price tag and smaller size)? i've read that the m3 has a slight mid-bass hump and is therefore better as a stand-alone monitor.

Re: m3 and m22 sensitivity
#705 01/01/02 01:58 PM
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur
President
connoisseur