Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Subwoofers - Question
#7073 12/01/02 01:03 AM
J
jamm Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I just joined the Axiom "family" and need some advice. I am not an audiophile but just purchased M3's and a VP100 to start my H/T system (man, they are awesome!) and am now looking for a decent subwoofer. Is there any significant difference between a down-firing sub vs. a front-firing one? My system will be used 80% for movies and 20% for music, and the music will primarily be jazz-related. Any advice is welcome to help me in my search. Thanks.

Re: Subwoofers - Question
#7074 12/04/02 05:32 PM
regular
regular
Looks like all the "pro's" are too busy listening to their systems - or out Christmas shopping for more goodies to reply!! I'm relatively new to all this, but I can tell you from past recent listening experience, and from my own modest purchases...if you have more space than approximately 1500 cu. ft.(or a 12X15 room with 8 ft. ceilings), then you'd better opt for Axiom's EP175. I am getting by with my EP125 (combined with M3's, QS2's and a VP100), but find that I am setting the volume control on the EP125 up to 3/4 to get the desired "sub" effect, especially for movies. And this is with hardwood flooring and minimal drapery, etc. Hope this has been of some help!

(unrepentant newbie)
#7075 12/04/02 08:30 PM
aficionado
aficionado
Down firing subs attempt to amplify the sound by bouncing it off the floor while direct subs attempt to produce enough sound on their own. Listen to the two and determine what you like better. The direct firing sub should be tighter and more accurate in most situations, but you may like the boom of the down firing models better. That's the good and bad part of this hobby, everyone has different tastes. I suggest you audition both and see what you like.

#7076 12/04/02 08:43 PM
axiomite
axiomite
I agree with Semi.