Page 1 of 2 1 2
Subs to avoid??
#7447 12/28/02 11:44 AM
K
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
K
I recently went on UBID.com to see if there were any deals on subs. I think my current plan is to get the M22 with a sub for my home theater. A lot of the subs seemed cheap enough and were in about the price range I was looking for 100-300 US dollars, but I am fairly new at all of this and I have not heard, or heard of a few of the brands. So my question is are there any brands of Subs to generally avoid, and or are there brands of subs that I should generallly look into? Also does anyone know of any other sites auction or non-auction that are offering good deals on subs right now that are worth checking out. I thank you all for the help, Hope to hear from you soon.

Re: Subs to avoid??
#7448 12/28/02 03:36 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hi KingofOld,

Really inexpensive subs ($100 - $150) aren't subwoofers at all. They're really powered woofers with little output below 40 Hz or a bit lower. They'll help with your M22ti, of course, but don't expect deep bass extension or high output at that price. I would include most of the Japanese-branded "subs" in this category.

Other brands to avoid would include several that have gone through various corporate owners and have been cheapened, such as AR and KLH, once prestigious brand names in the 1960's.

Regards,

Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)
#7449 12/28/02 03:36 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
I dont know of really any to avoid. That depends on what you want i guess. Have you ever heard of Audio review.com? You can go read through reviews there. That should give you some idea. as long as you can sort through the real reviews and the bs ones. For the price your looking at i suggest you check out the diy kit sub from parts express. Its $350 and no doubt it will demolish the competiton.(except my new faverite speaker company AXIOM of course)

Heres a link to the parts express sub..