Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
EP500 first impressions
#77071 01/15/05 04:09 AM
Bretsky Offline OP
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
Howdy all,

I'm a complete newbie on this forum, but I do happen to be the proud new owner of several Axiom pieces, in my brand spanking new home theater room.

Just a little background for you all:
My dedicated room is about 17*13 with 7'6" ceilings in a basement. It is drywalled, including ceiling, and carpet is installed on top of a raised subfloor (some type of synthetic plasticy egg cartonish looking stuff raising the wooden subfloor up for possible moisture relief and some insulation). Also, I have several acoustic panels up around the room for toning down the mid/highs (1.5 inch egg carton foam inside a nice looking frame with fabric covering).

Now to the good stuff:
Receiver: Pioneer Elite 56Txi
Universal Player: Pioneer Elite 59AVi
Fronts: Paradigm Reference 60's (please don't hate me)
Center: Paradigm Reference CC470
Side Surrounds: QS8's (they rock, but you all know that)
Rear Surrounds: QS8's

SUBWOOFER: El'Beasto (or EP500 if you prefer)

This "review" is going to be very non-technical, as I don't have the setup to make charts and things like that. Keep that in mind as you read my subjective comments. Also, I just got this stuff hooked up this week, so this test really is comprised of a 3 hour period. I may do a followup later after more sampling if you guys want.

Quick initial impressions I got: