Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Onkyo receiver NR900
#8154 01/22/03 03:03 AM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Hello, I'm new to the HT market, so I jumped in and bought the M80's, QS-8's, and the VP-100 (returning for the 150) and the Onkyo NR900. The speakers sound great, and the receiver seems to work great, but I'm not sure if it's enough power. It's rated at 110w/ch at 8Ohms, it goes down to 4 ohms at 145w/ch (current setting is 4 ohm).
I can turn the receiver up and the speakers are clear and clean, but they don't seem loud enough. I just don't think that I should be able to turn the receiver all the way up and stand it. This is a first for me, are the speakers just so clear that I can turn them up and enjoy the music.

Also, I know that the M80's are rated up tp 400w, is underpowering them going to hurt them?

Thanks,

Rick

Re: Onkyo receiver NR900
#8155 01/22/03 03:20 AM
axiomite
axiomite
Rick, I can't comment directly to your situation because i'm not familiar with your receiver, but the receiver i have, the Onkyo DS797, is rated for 100w over 6 channels (this is Onkyo's listing) and i have to turn my receiver up to 70-75% to get the maximum loudness i would prefer.
In fact, i know that several other ppl on the forums have the same receiver and also commented on how any volume setting less than 45% using this Onkyo was really quite useless since you couldn't hear anything at all.
I wasn't sure originally if this was an underpowered situation when i first tested my speakers but now i know, it was not. It just happens to be the way the receiver works and pushes power.
I should also note, i cannot put my volume above the 82% mark on the Onkyo b/c the sound physically becomes painful.

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
#8156 01/22/03 01:56 PM
F
fhw Offline
devotee
devotee
F