Rate Thread
Page 3 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Breaking in a set of axioms.
#8212 01/24/03 05:36 AM
amer Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Thanks for all the replys guys, very interesting and informed discussion. Looks like I inadvertanty touched upon a topic of much heated debate. Lets just file it along side the great 'bi-wiring' debate and agree to disagree. At least we all agree that our speakers sounds great.

#8213 01/24/03 05:12 PM
veteran
veteran
Here is my theory on breaking in speakers.

If I am a manufacturer of mediocre speaker and the buyer tells me that my speakers do not sound as good as another, I can always tell them that the difference is breaking in. Hoping that in time their ears will be used to the sound.

#8214 01/24/03 06:29 PM
regular
regular
> the buyer tells me that my speakers do not sound
> as good as another, I can always tell them that
> the difference is breaking in. Hoping that in
> time their ears will be used to the sound.

I'm not an audio expert, but what you say makes a lot of sense.

This implies that what is perceived as "speaker break in" is really a psychological phenomenon, and is really *you* breaking into the speakers.

This point was mentioned before, but taking it one step further: if we assume that the phenomenon of "break in" is real, in the sense that something is in fact is breaking in, most likely the listener's ears/brain, etc., then the question is:

Do speakers that reviewers claim require a long break in period truly sound very different from other speakers. In other words, can we look back on the many "professional reviews" that have been done, and gain some insight into how distinctive a sound different speakers may have by looking at how long the reviewer claimed they needed to be broken in?

#8215 01/24/03 07:54 PM
veteran
veteran