Page 1 of 2 1 2
Speaker cable shielding?
#86546 03/22/05 07:01 PM
hashts Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Hey guys,

Noob here who is about to get some Axioms soon. I was curious what speaker cables everyone is using and yes I did see a similar thread in HT. Was considering getting a 50-100ft spool of 12ga and line it against the wall or possibly under the carpet.

My question is, what gauge cables are used inside Axiom speakers? I read somewhere that its no use getting large expensive cables if the internal wiring of the speakers use lesser cables. Also, is shielding an important factor with speaker wire or is it just marketing BS? I leaning towards just getting a large spool.

So fellas, is a 12ga spool the way to go or get some of the cables from the Axiom store which are shielded but cost more?

Thanks

Re: Speaker cable shielding?
#86547 03/22/05 07:18 PM
B
connoisseur
connoisseur
B
welcome to the board..

shielding is somewhat BS. i mean, i am sure it doesnt hurt, but is it beneficial enough to warrant its higher price, definitely not. the only time i could see it really necessary, is if you were gonna run speaker wire closely adjacent to electrical wiring that is carrying high current. other than that, dont bother.

good rule of thumb is to try and get 12g wire for runs over 30 feet. anything less, and 14 will be fine. and you can even use 16g for runs under 10 feet. i just went to home depot and got their basic 14g bulk wire at .27 cents a foot, and ran that to all my speakers. terminate the ends with a basic banana plug, and you will be good to go.

as far as what gauge is 'in' the speaker.. i have no idea.. but, rest assured, these are well made speakers, so i would guess it is of above average quality.

bigjohn

EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU THE SINGING BUSH??
#86548 03/22/05 07:29 PM
axiomite
axiomite
Random thoughts :