#8983 02/23/03 04:47 AM
M
mwc Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
M
Hi folks,

I am new to the message board but I've had my M22s' for about a year now. I am no "Audiophile" (perhaps an Audiofool) but I love these little jems. I use them in a two channel music only system along with an NHT SA2 amp with two slave subs (sw2si). The overall sound is amazing but the funny thing is that the better it sounds the more I want, thus, the "audiofool".

The rest of my system consists of: Odyssey Audio Stratos amp, Anthem Pre-2L SE tubed pre-amp, CAL Audio Alpha tubed DAC with Pioneer CDP as transport, Sony SACD/DVD player(DVNXX?"&*sominorother), Denon DVD 3000, Sansui TU-X1 tuner. The wire I use is thick copper(and thats all I want to say about "wire" as I can't tell the difference between a $500/ft wire and a $1.50/ft wire}.

I also have a seperate HT system employing KEF Q series speakers all around and hooked up to a Denon 3200 with an outboard Technics processor for DTS/AC3. But my main hobby is two channel listening and for that I love the smooth, balanced and open sound of the M22s' even above that of the KEFs' and NHT Super Twos' I just sold.

Several months ago, I got "upgradeitis" for new speakers. I compared the M22 to the likes of Linn, ProAC, Sonus, Vienna, Polk, Paradigm, Magnepan and several other mid-hi speakers. With the exception of the Magnepan MG12s(I bought them) I didn't find any of these to be a significant upgrade to the Axioms yet they were all waaaay more expensive. They all sound different from the Axioms and each other and they all certianly play well in the audio press but the Axioms just sound right. I now interchange the Maggies and Axioms in the "music only" system depending on my mood. The M22s now mostly reside in my son's room. But one thing is for sure, they will never leave my house.

BUT HEY, enough of the personal stuff. I have a few questions.