You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Wiring Video

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#98534 - 06/12/05 05:08 PM Wiring Video
mikei Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/31/05
Posts: 35
Loc: Califonia. Land of the Govern...
Should I wire my video directly to the tv and only use my receiver for audio????

Any advice would be helpful.

Mike

Top
#98535 - 06/12/05 05:49 PM Re: Wiring Video
FordPrefect Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/05/02
Posts: 1342
Loc: Ancaster, Ontario
Thats the way I did it. No reason other than the shortest route seems to make the most sense.
_________________________
getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s

Top
#98536 - 06/12/05 05:55 PM Re: Wiring Video
mikei Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/31/05
Posts: 35
Loc: Califonia. Land of the Govern...
Should I run sound from my dvd and sat directly to the tv via rca AND run it digitally to my receiver as well? That way, if I didn't want use my speaker set late at night and just use the tv's speakers.

Top
#98537 - 06/12/05 06:04 PM Re: Wiring Video
richeydog Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/24/04
Posts: 1201
Loc: Fresno, CA
That's how I have my dvd player and cable box setup as well. A pair of low cost rca plugs will be fine for each device.




Edited by richeydog (06/12/05 06:09 PM)
_________________________
*Michael*
AV123 Refugee - X-LS Encore, X-Voce, X-Omnis, Elt-Dpa's
Denon AVR-591
Magnavox NB500MGX BDP


Top
#98538 - 06/12/05 06:04 PM Re: Wiring Video
FordPrefect Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/05/02
Posts: 1342
Loc: Ancaster, Ontario
Can't help you there. My TV came with separate speakers, They are currently in my basement in an unopened box. The only sound I want is from the Axioms.
I am pretty sure though that a few other people here use their TV speakers at times. I'm sure they'll pop up with some advice.
_________________________
getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s

Top
#98539 - 06/12/05 10:29 PM Re: Wiring Video
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
If you have a remote that's easy enoigh to operate and a tv that accepts more than one input, straight to the TV.

I use the upconversion from cable to receiver to component to plasma. I tested the direct connection and through the receiver is as good on my 3805.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,206 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,962 Topics
423,588 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
2 registered (Gary Vose Sr, exlabdriver)
266 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup