Page 1 of 2 1 2
DVDO Edge Announced
#216083 07/23/08 10:18 PM
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
For those of you who’ve always wanted top notch scaling and deinterlacing that only a stand alone video processor can only provide, but didn’t have the money to seriously consider one, DVDO has announced a new product. I have been using a VP50Pro and a VP50 prior to that for the past two years. I feel violated when I look at the spec sheet of this new product and what they are going to sell it for in comparison to what I paid for the VP’s.

It does not have the same functionality that the VP’s do, but it should do an amazing job with standard def material, as well as frame double 1080P/24. They are looking for beta testers right now….. If you are selected, you can buy one for a reduced price of an already amazingly low price.

Information is at AVS.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051294

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051246

Re: DVDO Edge Announced
michael_d #216097 07/24/08 12:54 AM
T
axiomite
axiomite
T
So, does this thing (via vertical stretch or whatever) supplant the need for an anamorphic lens?

bibere usque ad hilaritatem
tomtuttle #216116 07/24/08 02:37 AM
axiomite
axiomite
My understanding is that a scaler impacts the input TO the projector and not the output FROM the projector. Something still needs to squish all of the pixels from a 16:9 (1.78:1) projector to end up at 2.35:1 or whatever "wider" format. That is where the lens comes in...

Farewell - June 4, 2020
nickbuol #216171 07/24/08 02:48 PM
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
Still need a lens for a scope set up, unless you just want to use the zoom and re-focus method (PITA).

michael_d #216201 07/24/08 05:17 PM
T
axiomite
axiomite
T
O-Tay! Thanks for the clarification. I'm not projector savvy, but enjoy learning from you guys.

That looks like an amazing processor, especially at that price point. I'm especially impressed by how much switching it does.