Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Lampshade The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 05:49 AM
Which do you think has been the more powerful in contributing to the human condition?

Please cite performance examples, history, anything you can think of. You Tube clips of outstanding performances.

I almost included drums in this poll.
Posted By: JohnK Re: The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 06:09 AM
Chris, I looked at this from the standpoint of being influential in the historical development of music over hundreds of years. The violin would likely be my selection, although the piano of course played an important role and of the two choices you offered, I voted for it.
Posted By: Ajax Re: The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 02:12 PM
I'm basing my choice on my belief that music was/is a major contributor, in a very positive sense, to the human condition. I was a guitarist, but there is no doubt in my mind that, of the two, the piano was/is the major influence.
Posted By: alan Re: The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 04:01 PM
Lamp,

Interesting idea for a poll, but you left out what is perhaps the greatest musical instrument of all -- the human voice.

Regards,
Alan
Posted By: Adrian Re: The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 04:29 PM
Excluding the human voice smile , what about the earliest stringed instruments from which all other ones(guitar, violin...) originated, such as the lyre. Heck, a piano is a stringed instrument when you think about it. In modern history, the electrification of the guitar is a biggie...much influential music was performed on them esp thru the 50's, 60's and 70's. Of course, in very modern history you should look no further than auto tuning, the greatest thing to happen to people with no singing talent.
Posted By: Lampshade Re: The Most Influential Instrument - 01/05/14 04:48 PM
Alan,
I thought about that for a long time! We can can argue about it in Manhattan over pizza!!!!!!