Axiom Home Page
Posted By: Bobbyh New User with lots of questions - 06/09/06 07:44 PM
Hi Everybody,
I am new to all this and have been doing a lot of research. I now have to get off my duff and listen to some speakers and evaluate an what I want to drive them.

I am very impressed with what I have read about the Axion speakers and am considering the Epic Master 350's. My only hesitation is the fact that I haven't settled on a reciever yet. I am leaning toward a Harmon Karmon AVR635, but I really don't know what will drive the Axion speakers the best. Does anyone have any advise what might be best.

Thanks,
Bob
Posted By: tomtuttle Re: New User with lots of questions - 06/09/06 08:15 PM
Hi Bob, welcome.

Any of the HK, Onkyo, Denon, Yamaha, et al. receivers will work fine. Most people around here subscribe to the theory that "a watt is a watt is a watt" and that - unless you have a perfect listening environment and golden ears - you won't be able to distinguish one solid-state amplification section from another one. So, trying to "match" the Axioms with a particular brand of receiver may not be worth your time. There are lots of happy Axiom owners with all kinds of other equipment.

I think the HK 635 is terrific, and would satisfy you for many years.
Posted By: Spoiler Re: New User with lots of questions - 06/09/06 08:55 PM
Agreed with Tomtuttle. Just choose the receiver with the features you're looking for, and it'll drive the Axioms perfectly.
Posted By: SirQuack Re: New User with lots of questions - 06/09/06 09:28 PM
Welcome Bobby, as the others have mentioned, you will be good to go with pretty much any receiver. I would stick with a reputable name and you'll be fine. The only issue with some receivers is if your going with the m80ti's for your main speakers. Their 4 ohm design sometimes does not play nice with cheaper quality equipment.

ps: By the way, it is Axiom, not Axion.
Posted By: F107plus5 Re: New User with lots of questions - 06/10/06 01:06 AM
Quote: