Axiom Home Page
Posted By: vball_le Denon Receiver Blow-out - 08/31/06 10:50 PM
Yesterday I connect the M60 speakers to 2 receivers without removing the bar on the back that connect the 2 binding posts. I am not trying to bi-amping or anything..just playing around. When I tried to play a DVD, the Denon receiver just went dead and i cannot turn it on anymore. Has anyone experienced this problem? What might happen to the Denon receiver? Thanks.
Posted By: DrunkenWolf Re: Denon Receiver Blow-out - 08/31/06 11:02 PM
Umm...so...You just sent current TO the receiver? I'm not an expert on this, but that sounds like a very bad idea. Hopefully some magic circuitry kicked in to protect the device before real harm was done. Unplug it for a half hour or so and see if you can get it to turn back on. Don't do that again.

But I'm not expert, maybe it is okay to do this, it just sounds like a bad idea to try to push power into an out socket.
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Denon Receiver Blow-out - 08/31/06 11:15 PM
So, lemme get this straight-one receiver to the upper pair of binding posts, one receiver to the lower pair of binding posts, no removal of the jumpers between the upper and lower pairs.

Were both receivers on? Even if they weren't, you're risking damage to both of them. Like Drunkenwolf said, take it apart and hope that it was protection circuitry that saved your buns.
Posted By: DrunkenWolf Re: Denon Receiver Blow-out - 08/31/06 11:22 PM
Quote:

So, lemme get this straight-one receiver to the upper pair of binding posts, one receiver to the lower pair of binding posts, no removal of the jumpers between the upper and lower pairs.

Were both receivers on? Even if they weren't, you're risking damage to both of them. Like Drunkenwolf said, take it apart and hope that it was protection circuitry that saved your buns.

Don't take it apart, just unplug it. Taking it apart would void the warranty. Wouldn't want to do something that voids the warranty.