Axiom Home Page
Posted By: jrmav Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:30 PM
I am just learning about HDMI connections and have a yamaha rx-v750, 2 years old, and there are no HDMI inputs. There are component inputs for both tv and dvd, now can hi-def be passed through component and if so is there any difference in picture quality?
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:33 PM
At the moment, component may well be your best bet for high def. Unfortunately, should you get a HDDVD player or a Blu-Ray player, and should the movie studios start enforcing it, you may be out of luck. On both formats there is the ability to cause output through the component jacks to be played in 540i instead of 1080p, should the movie publisher want to do that. At the moment, the movie studios have elected not to go that route, but they certainly left the option open to do it in the future.
Posted By: jrmav Re: Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:37 PM
Quote:

At the moment, component may well be your best bet for high def. Unfortunately, should you get a HDDVD player or a Blu-Ray player, and should the movie studios start enforcing it, you may be out of luck. On both formats there is the ability to cause output through the component jacks to be played in 540i instead of 1080p, should the movie publisher want to do that. At the moment, the movie studios have elected not to go that route, but they certainly left the option open to do it in the future.

So if and when this happens I will just need a new receiver, right? by then I will probably be ready for a new one anyway, I'll just make sure my new tv has HDMI inputs. Thanks.
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:41 PM
No, no, you're supposed to get pissed at the movie studios for putting these artificial limitations in place!
Posted By: jrmav Re: Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:42 PM
Sorry.......THOSE ROTTEN BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!
Posted By: Ken.C Re: Quick HDMI question - 09/01/06 10:53 PM
That's more like it.